Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Architecture: 48-100: Foundation 1: Guide

Fundamentals (for everyone)

Follow these tips:

  • Know what you are looking for.
    Many architects, buildings, and locations are known by multiple names. Note and search on name variations. Be certain that you are spelling your search terms correctly in the most-appropriate language.

     
  • Choose distinctive search terms.
    Search using the most distinctive words and leave out common words like <house>. Try searching on part of the name of a building and part of the name of the architect.


     

Search the free Web:

  • Many buildings and architects can be found on the free Web on architects' firm web sites, active architecture blogs, etc.; but note that many web sites are commercial and promotional in nature. Look for information from credible sources. You will likely need to look elsewhere for in-depth information, critical analysis, good drawings, and high-resolution images.

    Do not settle for student work, collections of random images, or images that are found only on Pinterest.



Search for books and articles:

  • CMU Libraries: Everything
    Use the library's <Everything> search to find books and articles. Use the left hand column to target your results. Use the button to try to determine if Carnegie Mellon has access to electronic or print versions of an article. Note that very few buildings have entire books written about them, but buildings may be part of a book with a broader topic. Articles often provide the best information about buildings and the best drawings and other images.



Search for articles in architecture databases:

  • Art & Architecture Source and Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in EBSCOhost
    Select the <Art & Architecture Source> and <Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals> boxes. Click CONTINUE to search both databases at one time. Use these databases to identify articles that have been published in art and architecture journals. Use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to try to determine if Carnegie Mellon has access to electronic or print versions an article. Articles often provide the best information about buildings and the best drawings and other images.

    Some of the best journals for this assignment are:  2G, A+U Architecture and Urbanism, Casabella, El Croquis, Domus, and GA Houses. Issues of El Croquis since 2001 can be accessed by browsing the El Croquis Digital Library.

Research Resources by Architect: Project - Spatial Theme


Brunelleschi: Pazzi Chapel - Proportion

  • Ballantyne, Andrew. Key Buildings From Prehistory to the Present: Plans, Sections and Elevations. London [England]: Laurence King, 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA200 .B355 2012

    e-book: http://vufind.library.cmu.edu/vufind/Record/1727682

     
  • Blaser, Werner, and Monica Stucky. Drawings of Great Buildings. Basel [Switzerland]; Boston: Birkhauser Verlag, 1983.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2706 .U6 D72 1983

     
  • Furnari, Michele. Formal Design in Renaissance Architecture: From Brunelleschi to Palladio. New York, NY: Rizzoli, 1995.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA1115 .F87 1995

     
  • Stierlin, Henri. Encyclopaedia of World Architecture. New York: Facts on File, 1978.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA202 .S76 1978

Palladio: Villa Rotonda / Villa Almerico - Proportion

  • Blaser, Werner, and Monica Stucky. Drawings of Great Buildings. Basel [Switzerland]; Boston: Birkhauser Verlag, 1983.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2706 .U6 D72 1983

     
  • Palladio, Andrea. The Four Books On Architecture. Cambridge, Mass.: The MIT Press, 1997.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2515 .P253 1997.

     
  • Stierlin, Henri. Encyclopaedia of World Architecture. New York: Facts on File, 1978.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA202 .S76 1978

Wright: Martin house - Plan/Transparency

  • Wright, Frank Lloyd, Yukio Futagawa, and Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer. Frank Lloyd Wright. Tokyo: A.D.A. Edita, 1984.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .W74 A4 1984   Vol. 2.

Frank Lloyd Wright: Robie house - Plan/Transparency

  • Davies, Colin. Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7126 .D38 2006

     
  • Weston, Richard. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections, and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2705 .W44 2004


Le Corbusier: Villa Baizeau (1928 version) - Section/Transparency

  • Le Corbusier 1887-1965: 40 Wohnhäuser, Bauten und Projekte von Le Corbusier, Studienarbeiten an der Technischen Universität München = 40 houses, buildings and projects by Le Corbusier, scale models from the Technological University in Munich. Salzburg: Verlag Anton Pustet, 1997.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA2707 .L4 A60 1997
    See Martin Aurand for this book.

     
  • Le Corbusier Archive. 32 vols.  New York: Garland, 1982-1984.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .L4 A4 1982D  Vol. 5.

     
  • Le Corbusier. Œuvre complète. 8 vols.  Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 A4 2006B  Vol. 1. 1910-1929.
    e-book (Vol 1. 1910-1929)http://vufind.library.cmu.edu/vufind/Record/1620482

     
  • Risselada, Max, editor. Raumplan Versus Plan Libre: Adolf Loos [and] Le Corbusier. Rotterdam: 010, 2008.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA7325 .R3813 2008

     
  • Ru Korubyujie no zen j*utaku = Le Corbusier: Houses. Tokyo: TOTO shuppan, 2000.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 R8 2001

MVRDV: Double house, Utrecht - Section/Transparency


Le Corbusier: Villa Le Lac / House for his mother / Le Petite Maison - Overlapping Space

  • Le Corbusier 1887-1965: 40 Wohnhäuser, Bauten und Projekte von Le Corbusier, Studienarbeiten an der Technischen Universität München = 40 houses, buildings and projects by Le Corbusier, scale models from the Technological University in Munich. Salzburg: Verlag Anton Pustet, 1997.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA2707 .L4 A60 1997
    See Martin Aurand for this book.

     
  • Le Corbusier Archive. 32 vols.  New York: Garland, 1982-1984.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .L4 A4 1982D  Vol. 2.

     
  • Le Corbusier. Œuvre complète. 8 vols.  Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 A4 2006B  Vol. 1. 1910-1929.
    e-book (Vol 1. 1910-1929)http://vufind.library.cmu.edu/vufind/Record/1620482


  • Park, Steven. Le Corbusier Redrawn: The Houses. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .L4 P37 2012

     
  • Ru Korubyujie no zen j*utaku = Le Corbusier: Houses. Tokyo: TOTO shuppan, 2000.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 R8 2001

Mies: Barcelona Pavilion - Overlapping Space

  • Mies van der Rohe, Ludwig, Arthur Drexler, and Mies van der Rohe Archive. The Mies Van Der Rohe Archive. New York: Garland Pub., 1986. Vol. 5.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .M55 A4 1986

     
  • Weston, Richard. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections, and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2705 .W44 2004

Kahn: Esherick house - Mass/Spatial Zones

  • Davies, Colin. Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7126 .D38 2006

     
  • Kahn, Louis I. The Louis I. Kahn Archive: Personal Drawings: The Completely Illustrated Catalogue of the Drawings in the Louis I. Kahn Collection. 7 vols.  New York: Garland, 1987.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2707 .K33 A4 1988  Vol. 4

     
  • Ronner, Heinz, Sharad Jhaveri, and Alessandro Vasella. Louis I. Kahn: Complete Work, 1935-1974. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1977.
    Offsite Storage - BY-REQUEST 720.8 K122R
    See Martin Aurand for this book.


Kahn: Trenton Bath House / Jewish Community Center - Mass/Spatial Zones

  • Kahn, Louis I. The Louis I. Kahn Archive: Personal Drawings: The Completely Illustrated Catalogue of the Drawings in the Louis I. Kahn Collection. 7 vols.  New York: Garland, 1987.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2707 .K33 A4 1988  Vol. 1

     
  • Ronner, Heinz, Sharad Jhaveri, and Alessandro Vasella. Louis I. Kahn: Complete Work, 1935-1974. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1977.
    Offsite Storage - BY-REQUEST 720.8 K122R
    See Martin Aurand for this book.

Rietveld: Rietveld Schröder house - Frame/Plane

  • Brown, Theodore M. The Work of G. Rietveld, Architect. Utrecht: A. W. Bruna & Zoon, 1958.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA1153 .R5 B7
    See Martin Aurand for this book.

     
  • Davies, Colin. Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7126 .D38 2006

Graves: Snyderman house - Frame/Plane

Rare Books and Sets

Palladio, Andrea. The Four Books of Andrea Palladio's Architecture: Wherein, After a Short Treatise of the Five Orders, Those Observationas That Are Most Necessary in Building, Private Houses, Streets, Bridges, Piazzas, Xisti, and Temples Are Treated of. London: I. Ware, 1738.

 

Wright, Frank Lloyd. [Ausgeführte Bauten und Entwürfe von Frank Lloyd Wright. Berlin: Gedruckt und verlegt von Ernst Wasmuth A.-G., 1910]; Buildings: Plans and Designs. New York: Horizon Press, 1963.

 

Le Corbusier et al. Œuvre Complete. [various publishers]. 1929-1970.

 

Ronner, Heinz, and Sharad Jhaveri. Louis I. Kahn: Complete Work, 1935-1974. 2nd rev. and enl. ed. Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 1987.

Librarian

Martin Aurand's picture
Martin Aurand
Contact:
Hunt Library 408
412.268.8165
Subjects:Architecture