Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Architecture: 48-105: Architecture Design Studio: Foundation II: Guide

48-105

Buildings and Their Architects
Research Tips and key sources for researching buildings and their architects.

 

Images
Key sources for finding images of architecture and more.

 

Building Types
Research tips and key sources about building types includes houses and housing, libraries, and museums
.
 

Drawing and Representation
Key books about the representation of design projects.  Includes a selection of sketchbooks by noted architects, designers, and artists.

Project 3: Library Analysis

Follow these tips:

Search the free Web:

  • Of course search the free Web.  Check for architects' firm web sites, active architecture blogs, etc.  Look for documentation from credible sources, not student work or random postings.  Just be sure to try other sources too.
     

Search for books and e-books:

  • University Libraries: Books & More
    Use the library's <Books & More> search to find books and eBooks in CAMEO, Carnegie Mellon's library catalog.
     
  • Worldcat
    Find books and other resources in libraries around Pittsburgh, the country, and the world. Worldcat acts as a massive bibliography of published materials. 
    Use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to look for books at Carnegie Mellon or to request a book via interlibrary loan.

     

Search for articles:

  • University Libraries: Articles & More
    Use the library's <Articles & More> search to find articles in a wide variety of scholarly and popular sources.  Important: Check <Include newspapers> box for a more complete search.  Use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to look for electronic or print articles at Carnegie Mellon or to request an article via interlibrary loan.
     

Search for articles in architecture databases:

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    The most extensive index to architectural periodicals. Use the "Advanced Search" mode for more flexible online searching.  Select <Choose Databases> and check <Art & Architecture Source> box for a more complete search. Use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to look for electronic or print articles at Carnegie Mellon or to request an article via interlibrary loan.

     
  • Art & Architecture Source
    An excellent index to art periodicals and selected architecture periodicals. Includes some citations that the Avery Index misses, and features more full text articles.  Select <Choose Databases> and check
    <Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals> box for a more complete search. Use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to look for electronic or print articles at Carnegie Mellon or to request an article via interlibrary loan.


  • RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online
    articles ca. 1984-. (Updated daily.)
    The catalog of the Royal Institute of British Architects library includes both books AND articles. It is especially strong in foreign periodical titles. Search results for articles are labeled ARTICLES. The catalog also includes citations to other RIBA collections.
    Use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to look for electronic or print articles at Carnegie Mellon or to request an article via interlibrary loan.


Use Interlibrary Loan:

48-105 Bibliography

The first grouping of books is available in the 48-105 studio in for the spring 2016 semester.

  • Angelil, Marc M., and Dirk Hebel. Designing Architecture: A Manual. Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser, 2008. HUNT HUNT STACKS-4 NA2750 .A62 2008 [MM320]

  • Broto, Carles. Libraries: Innovation and Design. Barcelona: Links, 2014.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-3 Z679 .B885 2014 [MM320]

     
  • Campbell, James W. P., and Will Pryce. The Library: A World History. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2013.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-3 Z721 .C22 2013 [MM320]

     
  • Ching, Frank. Architecture: Form, Space, and Order. 3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2760 .C46 2007 [MM320]

     
  • Ching, Frank, and James Eckler. Introduction to Architecture. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2013.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2520 .C48 2013 [MM320]

     
  • Davies, Colin.  Thinking About Architecture: An Introduction to Architectural Theory.
    [MM320]

     
  • Eckler, James.  Language of Space and Form: Generative Terms for Architecture.
    [MM320]

     
  • Habraken, N. J.  Conversations with Form: A Workbook for Students of Architecture.  London; New York: Routledge, 2014.
    [MM320]
     
  • Jackson, Paul.  Cut and Fold Techniques for Pop-Up Design.  London: Lawrence King Publishing, 2014.
    [MM320]

     
  • Jackson, Paul.  Folding Techniques for Designers: From Sheet to Form.  London: Lawrence King Publishing, 2012.
    HUNT STACKS-3 TT870 .J23 2011 [MM320]

     
  • Muckenheim, Mark and Juliane Demel.  Inspiration: Contemporary Design Methods in Architecture.  Amsterdam: BIS Publishers, 2012.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2750 .M83 2012 [MM320]

     
  • Pottmann, Helmut et. al.  Architectural Geometry.  Exton, PA: Bentley Institute Press, 2007.
    [MM320]

     
  • Simitch, Andrea and Val Warke.  The Language of Architecture: 26 Principles Every Architect Should Know.  Beverly, MA: Rockport Publishers, 2014.
    HUNT STACKS-4 NA 2550 .S56 2014 [MM320]

     
  • Smith, Kendra Schank.  Architects' Sketches: Dialogue and Design.  Oxford: Architectural Press, 2008.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2700 .S65 2008 [MM320]

     
  • Trebbi, Jean-Charles.  The Art of Folding: Creative Forms in Design and Architecture.  Barcelona: Promopress, 2012.
    HUNT STACKS-4 N8217 .F61 T74 2012 [MM320]

     
  • Tschumi, Bernard, and Matthew Berman, eds.  INDEX Architecture.  Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2003.
    HUNT STACKS-4 NA2300 .C65 I53 2003 [MM320]

     
  • Tschumi, Bernard, and Irene Cheng, eds.  The State of Architecture at the Beginning of the 21st Century.  New York: Monacelli Press, 2003.
    HUNT STACKS-4 NA687 .S73 2003 [MM320]

     
  • Unwin, Simon.  Analyzing Architecture.  4th edition.  London; New York: Routledge, 2014.
    [MM320]
     
  • Unwin, Simon.  Exercises in Architecture: Learning to Think as an Architect.  London; New York: Routledge, 2012.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2005 .U59 2012 [MM320]

     
  • Unwin, Simon.  Twenty-five Buildings Every Architect Should Understand.  London; New York: Routledge, 2015.
    [MM320]
     
  • Vyzoviti, Sophia.  Supersurfaces: Folding as a Method of Generating Forms for Architecture, Products, and Fashion.  Corte Modera, CA: Gingko Press, 2006.
    HUNT STACKS-4 NA2765 .V997 2006 [MM320]

     
  • Vyzoviti, Sophia.  Folding Architecture: Spatial, Structural and Organizational Diagrams.  Corte Modera, CA: Gingko Press, 2003. 
    HUNT STACKS-4 NA2790 .V98X 2006 [MM320]
     
  • Worpole. Ken.  Contemporary Library Architecture:  A Planning and Design Guide.  London; New York: Routledge, 2013.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-3 Z679 .W83 2013 [MM320]



     
  • Ballantyne, Andrew.  Key Buildings from Prehistory to the Present: Plans, Sections and ElevationsLondon, Laurence King Publishers, 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA 000200 .B355  2012

  • Balmer, Jeffrey., and Michael T Swisher. Diagramming the Big Idea: Methods for Architectural Composition.  New York: Routledge, 2012.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2750 .B3225 2012

     
  • Bjone, Christian.  First House: The Grid, the Figure and the Void.  Chichester, West Sussex: Wiley-Academy, 2002.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA7208 .B58 2002  

     
  • Clark, Roger H., and Michael Pause. Precedents in Architecture: Analytic Diagrams, Formative Ideas, and Partis. 4th ed. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2750 .C55 2012
    E-Book: http://search.library.cmu.edu/vufind/Record/1463993

     
  • Davies, Colin. Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7126 .D38 2006
    MUS-OFC-4 NA7126 .D38 2006 DISC

     
  • Eisenman, Peter. Ten Canonical Buildings 1950-2000. New York: Rizzoli, 2008.
    HUNT STACKS-4 NA7208 .B58 2002  

     
  • Ford, Edward R. The Details of Modern Architecture. 2 Vols.   Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1990.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2840 .F67 1990

     
  • Garcia, Mark. The Diagrams of Architecture: AD Reader. Chichester: Wiley, 2010.
    HUNT STACKS-4
    NA2700 .D53 2010

     
  • Pyo, Mi young. Architectural Diagrams. Berlin: Dom, 2011.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4  NA2750 .A6806 2011

     
  • Pyo, Mi young., and Seonwook Kim. Architectural and Program Diagrams 2. Berlin: DOM, 2013.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA2780 .P96 2013

     
  • Pyo, Mi young. Conceptual Diagrams. 2nd ed. Seoul, Korea: Damdi Pub., 2011.
    HUNT STACKS-4
    NA2760 .C66 2011

     
  • Sŏ, Kyŏng-wŏn., Yun-gyŏng Kang, and Min-jŏng Kim. Activity Diagrams. Seoul: Damdi, 2006.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4  NA2840 .A28 2006  

     
  • Weston, Richard. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2705 .W44 2004
    MUS-OFC-4 NA2705 .W44 2004 DISC

Librarian

Martin Aurand
Contact:
Hunt Library 408
412.268.8165
Subjects:Architecture