Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Architecture: 48-120: Media 1: Guide

Fundamentals (for everyone)

Web:

  • Check for architects' firm web sites, active architecture blogs, etc.  Look for documentation from credible sources, not student work or random postings on sites like Pinterest.


Books:

  • Cameo / Books and More
    Find books and other resources at Carnegie Mellon University Libraries using Carnegie Mellon's library catalog.


Articles:

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    Find articles in journals. Important: Add <Art & Architecture Source> database under Choose Databases for a more complete search.
    The Avery Index and Art & Architecture Source identify articles in journals that the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries may or may not own or subscribe to. Try to determine if we have the journal or ask for help with finding articles.Some of the best journals for this assignment are:  2G, A+U Architecture and Urbanism, Casabella, Croquis, Domus, and GA Houses.


Reference Resources:

  • Buildings and Their Architects
    Research Tips and key sources for researching buildings and their architects.
     
  • Clark, Roger H., and Michael Pause.  Precedents in Architecture: Analytic Diagrams, Formative Ideas, and Partis.  4th ed.  Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2750 .C55 2012
    e-book

     
  • Davies, Colin. Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7126 .D38 2006
    HUNT MUS-OFC-4 NA7126 .D38 2006 DISC

     
  • Dunster, David. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century. New York: Rizzoli, 1985. Vols. 1 & 2.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA680 .D86 1985

     
  • Kurrent, Friedrich. Scale Models: Houses of the 20th Century. Boston; Basel; Berlin: Birkhäuser, 1999. 
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7125 .R3813 1999

     
  • Weston, Richard. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections, and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7125NA2705 .W44 2004
    HUNT MUS-OFC-4 NA2705 .W44 2004 DISC

Sources by Architect

Aalto

 

  • Oshima, Ken Tadashi, and Toshiko Kinoshita. Visions of the Real: Modern Houses in the 20th Century II. Tōkyō: Ē ando Yū, 2000.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA6 .A1122 EX.ED. 2000-10 VOL. 2

Reference Resources:

  • Aalto, Alvar. Alvar Aalto: Gesamtwerk. Œuvres Complètes. Complete Works. Zurich: Editions d'architecture Artemis, 1970. Vol. 1
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1455 .F53 A22 1970


Le Corbusier

Reference Resources:

  • Benton, Tim. The Villas of Le Corbusier and Pierre Jeanneret, 1920-1930. Basel: Birkhauser, 2007.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 B38 2007

     
  • Le Corbusier 1887-1965: 40 Wohnhäuser, Bauten und Projekte von Le Corbusier, Studienarbeiten an der Technischen Universität München = 40 houses, buildings and projects by Le Corbusier, scale models from the Technological University in Munich. Salzburg: Verlag Anton Pustet, 1997.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA2707 .L4 A60 1997
    See Martin Aurand for this title.

     
  • Le Corbusier Archive. 32 vols.  New York: Garland, 1982-1984.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .L4 A4 1982D

     
  • Le Corbusier. Œuvre complète [1929-1970]. 8 vols.  Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser, 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 A4 2006B
    e-book (Vol 1. 1910-1929)
    e-book (Vol. 5 1946-1952)

     
  • Park, Steven. Le Corbusier Redrawn: The Houses. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2707 .L4 P37 2012

     
  • Ru Korubyujie no zen j*utaku = Le Corbusier: Houses. Tokyo: TOTO shuppan, 2000.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA1053 .J4 R8 2001

Kahn

Reference Resources:

  • Kahn, Louis I. The Louis I. Kahn Archive: Personal Drawings: The Completely Illustrated Catalogue of the Drawings in the Louis I. Kahn Collection. 7 vols.  New York: Garland, 1987.
    HUNT FA-REF-4  NA2707 .K33 A4 1988

     
  • Ronner, Heinz., and Sharad Jhaveri. Louis I. Kahn: Complete Work, 1935-1974. 2nd rev. and enl. ed. Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser Verlag, 1987.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA737 .K32 R66 1987
    See Martin Aurand for this title.


Mies

Reference Resources:

  • Mies van der Rohe, Ludwig, Arthur Drexler, and Mies van der Rohe Archive. The Mies Van Der Rohe Archive. New York: Garland Pub., 1986. Vol. 3.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2707 .M55 A4 1986

Saarinen


Schindler

Reference Resources:

  • R.M. Schindler, Arquitecto. [Madrid]: MOPU Arquitectura, 1984.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA737 .S35 R82 1984
    See Martin Aurand for this title.

Sert

  • Oshima, Ken Tadashi, and Toshiko Kinoshita. Visions of the Real: Modern Houses in the 20th Century II. Tōkyō: Ē ando Yū, 2000.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA6 .A1122 EX.ED. 2000-10 VOL. 2

Speyer

Archives:

  • See Martin Aurand to access drawings via Box.

Vignola

  • Letarouilly, Paul Marie. Edifices De Rome Moderne: Ou, Recueil Des Palais, Maisons, Eglises, Couvents Et Autres Monuments Publics Et Particuliers Les Plus Remarquables De La Ville De Rome. Paris: A. Morel, 1874.
    HUNT FOLIOS-4 NA1120 .L6 1874
     
  • Letarouilly, Paul Marie. Edifices De Rome Moderne, Ou, Recueil Des Palais, Maisons, Eglises, Couvents, Et Autres Monuments Publics Et Particuliers Les Plus Remarkables De La Ville De Rome. Rev. 2nd ed. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton Architectural Press, 1984.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA1120 .L4 1982
     
  • Furnari, Michele. Formal Design in Renaissance Architecture: From Brunelleschi to Palladio. New York, NY: Rizzoli, 1995.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 NA1115 .F87 1995
     
  • Steenbergen, Clemens M., and Wouter Reh. Architecture and Landscape: The Design Experiment of the Great European Gardens and Landscapes. Rev. and expanded ed. Basel; Boston: Birkhäuser, 2003.
    HUNT OVRSZQ-4 SB470.55 .E85 R44 2003
     

Librarian

Martin Aurand
Contact:
Hunt Library 408
412.268.8165
Subjects:Architecture