Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Architecture: 48-350: Post-War Modern Architecture: Guide

48-350

As you use each source, look for citations in bibliographies and footnotes that will lead you to other sources.  If you find references to items that Carnegie Mellon does not own they may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan if you allow a week or more.


Research Help

You are required to schedule a research consultation. Please contact:

Martin Aurand, Architecture Librarian and Archivist
ma1f@andrew.cmu.edu / 412.268.8165 / Hunt Library 408

See also:


Books: Library Catalogs 

  • Cameo
    Find resources at Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.

     
  • Pittcat
    Find resources at University of Pittsburgh Libraries including Frick Fine Arts Library and Hillman Library. To borrow from Pitt use Interlibrary Loan or show current Carnegie Mellon ID at Hillman Library circulation desk.

     
  • Worldcat
    Find resources elsewhere and request via Interlibrary Loan.

Articles: Databases

Use article databases and related tools to look for articles. Article databases give citation information (i.e. author, title, journal name, date, etc.) about articles in periodicals, and may include an abstract or even the full-text of an article.


Primary Sources and Collections

Find primary and secondary sources. Always call ahead before you visit a repository.


Reference Resources

  • AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
    Includes: American Architects Directory. New York, R. R. Bowker Co., 1956, 1962, 1970.
    FA-REF-4 NA53 .A37 1956

     
  • Contemporary Architects. 3rd Edition. Detroit: St. James Press, 1994.
    FA-REF-4 NA680 .C625 1994
    Profiles of very prominent architects.

     
  • Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture. 3 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA680 .E495 2004

     
  • Jester, Thomas C. Twentieth-Century Building Materials: History and Conservation. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 TA403.6 .T87 1995
     
  • International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture. 2 vols. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA40 .I48 1993

     
  • Johnson, Donald Leslie and Donald Langmead. Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA680 .J628 1997

     
  • Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. 4 vols. New York: Free Press, 1982.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA40 .M25 1982

     
  • Packard, Robert T. Encyclopedia of American Architecture, 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, Inc., 1995.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA705 .P3 1995

Postwar Pittsburgh Architecture Bibliography


Selected titles to provide background and context for your project; and citations for many sources on individual buildings.

Charette

Online access to Charette magazine (vols. 1-54, 1920-1974), an essential source for architectural research in Pittsburgh and Pennsylvania. Works best with Chrome browser.

Newspaper Articles


Google News Archive

There is information about searching Google News Archive here: Find news archive content.
 
Or, search or browse available newspapers at Google News: All Newspapers. To search, enter search terms along with <Pittsburgh> or another city or the exact name of a newspaper in the search window. 
 
The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and other Pittsburgh newspapers are available from 1859-2007, more or less. Recent issues of the Post-Gazette can also be searched at Post-Gazette.com.
 
For newspaper articles from additional times and places see: Newspapers.
 
 

Historic Pittsburgh

spacer
Historic Pittsburgh is a comprehensive collection of online resources that supports personal and scholarly research on western Pennsylvania.  It includes texts, maps, images, archival finding aids, census records, chronology, and videos.

Librarian

Martin Aurand
Contact:
Hunt Library 408
412.268.8165
Subjects:Architecture