Books
Use the links below to find books on your topic. Some relevant subject terms (can also be used in a keyword search) might be:
world war 1939-1945
holocaust
antisemitism,
concentration camps
holocaust servivors
perhaps combined with one of these terms:
diaries
sources
Personal narratives
Reference librarians can help you select relevant terms and a good search strategy for your topic.
- Cameo-Carnegie Mellon's Library Catalog
Use for the holdings of all CMU Libraries. Contains books, journal titles (NOT articles), some government documents, DVDs, CDs, etc. Use your CMU ID card as your library card. - Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Catalog of Pittsburgh's public libraries. You can get a borrowing card by showing your CMU ID card and proof of local address (bill, checkbook, etc). - Pittcat
Catalog for the University of Pittsburgh's libraries. You can borrow books from most libraries by getting a special patron card at the Hillman Library Circulation Desk. You'll need to show your CMU ID card to get one. - Worldcat
Carnegie Mellon users only. You need to be IP authenticated to use. Off campus or using wireless?-see the tab at top.
Search library holdings throughout the world. You can see if we have the book, and use the link to our library to get the call number. If we don't have the book you need, you can see if someone has it locally, or use EZ Borrow or ILL to get it. See the tab "If we don't have what you need for more info."
Journal Articles
- Historical AbstractsCovers articles in historical journals written from 1955 to the present. Carnegie Mellon users only.
Note that the keyword and/or subject for World War II is World War, 1939-1945 or use the Historical Period limits to search the historical dates you want to cover.
Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab. - Academic OnefileGood all purpose academic database, covers material published in all subject from ca. 1980 pt the present. Carnegie Mellon users only.
Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab.
Along with full text, the database offers the option to download to MP3 so you can listen to the article! - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences1951-present. Includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
- JSTORDates vary by journal. Search or browse and display full text of journals in many fields. Using the Advanced Search lets you limit your search to journal in a particular field(s), such as Jewish Studies or even particular journals. This database does not include the most recent 5-3 years of any journal title.
- Project MuseSearch or browse the full text of current social science and humanities journals. You can limit your search to a particular journal, such as Holocaust and Genocide Studies or discipline such as Judaic Studies. This database contains only the past 3-5 years of a journal.
Audio and Visual Resources
YouTube is a great resource for finding speeches, as well as other audio and visual clips from this period. Just enter some relevant keywords, like concentration camps, Nuremberg Trials, etc.
To find additional videos or DVDs in Hunt Library, go to Advanced Search, type in your keywords and then change the item type from ANY to VIDEO.
- Germany & the Holocaust.Hosted by U.S. Holocaust Research Institute and C-SPAN. 205 min.
HUNT VIDEO-BSMT 940.5318 G373 - Hitler's First Speech in Power w. Goebbels Intro 1933 10min
- Kristallnacht: The Journey from 1938 to 1988.58 min.
HUNT VIDEO-BSMT 940.5315 K92 - Nazi Concentration and Prison CampsOfficial documentary report compiled from United States Army films.
- Nuremberg Trials Documentary Video: U.S. Army Film Version (1950 WW2 Movie)
- Nuremberg: Tyranny on TrialHUNT VIDEO-BSMT DVD-4092
- Schindler: The Documentary.78 min.
HUNT VIDEO-BSMT 940.5318 S336S - Shoahca. 570 min.
HUNT VIDEO-BSMT 940.5315 S559 - Shtetl180 min
HUNT VIDEO-BSMT 943.8 S561
Background
Use these resources to get more information on a particular topic, to clarify facts, etc. Longer encyclopedia articles may illustrate major issues in a particular topic, and usually include a bibliography of relevant resources.
- Columbia Guide to the HolocaustHUNT REF-1 D804.3 .N54 2000
- Encyclopedia of GenocideHUNT REF-1 HV6322.7 .E53 1999
- Encyclopedia of Jewish life Before and During the HolocaustHUNT REF-1 DS135 .E8 E45 2001 E56
- Encyclopedia of the HolocaustHUNT REF-1 D804.3 .E53 1990
- Encyclopedia of Zionism and IsraelHUNT REF-1 DS149 .E597
- Historical Dictionary of World War II France: The Occupation, Vichy, and the Resistance, 1938-1946.E-book. To access you'll need to be IP authenticated. Off campus or Using Wireless? See tab at top.
- Holocaust EncyclopediaFrom the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
- Holocaust EncyclopediaHUNT STACKS-2 D804.25 .H66 2001
- Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their WorksE-book. To access you'll need to be IP authenticated. Off campus or Using Wireless? See tab at top.
- Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the PresentInternational, authoritative A–Z guide to five centuries of propaganda, in both wartime and peacetime, which covers key moments, techniques, concepts, and some of the most influential propagandists in history.
- Third Reich AlmanacHUNT REF-1 DD256.5 .T283 1987
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945.HUNT REF-1 D805 .A2 U55 2009
- World in Turmoil: An Integrated Chronology of the Holocaust and World War IIHUNT REF-1 D804.3 .E34 1991
Newspaper Articles
Newspaper articles can give a sense of the importance of an event or reaction to it. With each of these databases you can limit your search by a particular time period.
- Historical Newspapers: New York Times1865 - ca. current - 3 years. (Carnegie Mellon users only).
Search and display the full text of the New York Times. You can limit your search by years, and by certain parts of the newspaper. - Le MondePrint: 1944-present.
UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, HILLMAN LIBRARY Microforms (Ground Floor) - Times Digital Archive1785-1985 (Carnegie Mellon users only).
Search and display the full text of the Times (London). You can limit your search to certain years, and/or certain sections of the newspaper.
Maps
- Historical Atlas of the HolocaustHUNT REF-1 G1797 .21.E29 H5 1995
- Holocaust and World war II MapsFrom Jewish Virtual Library
- Holocaust Encyclopedia: Browse All MapsMaps of concentrations camps, ghettos, occupied areas, etc. From the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
- Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust 4th ed.HUNT STACKS-2 G1797.21 .E29 G58 2009
Primary Sources
- Documents on Nazism, 1919-1945.HUNT STACKS-2 DD256.5 .N365 199835
4 vols. - Documents on the Holocaust: selected sources on the destruction of the Jews of Germany and Austria, Poland, and the Soviet UnionHUNT STACKS-2 D804.19 .D63 1999
- Documents Relating to the Holocaust War Crimes and Genocide (Stuart Stein, University of West England)
- Hitler's Third Reich: A Documentary HistoryHUNT STACKS-2 DD256.5 .H536
- Holocaust History ProjectDocuments, photographs, recordings, and essays on the Holocaust.
- Lest We Forget: A History of the Holocaust.HUNT MUS-OFC-4 D810 .J4 L47 1996 DISC
Archival documentary footage, including Nazi propaganda films, a gallery of over 500 photographs, maps, charts, timeline, extensive original text, and audio summaries and archival audio from German archives. - Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression8 vols plus supplements and opinion and judgement.
E-book. To access you'll need to be IP authenticated. Off campus or Using Wireless? See tab at top. - Nazi Years; a Documentary HistoryHUNT STACKS-2 DD256.5 .R43
- Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust: DocumentsVarious documents on the Holocaust
- International Military Tribunal for Germany: Contents of The Nuremberg Trials Collection
- Final report to the Secretary of the Army on Nuernberg war crimes trials under Control Council Law no. 10HUNT STACKS-2 D804 .G42 G39
- Trials of war criminals before the Nuernberg military tribunals under control council law No. 10. Nuernberg, October 1946-April, 1949HUNT STACKS-2 D804 .G42 A42\
15 vols. - Weimar Republic SourcebookHUNT STACKS-2 DD240 .W3927 1994
Never Forget
Related Web Pages
History Librarian
Contact Info Hunt Library Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA 15213 412-268-5019 sc24@andrew.cmu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
History Librarian at the Hunt Library Reference Desk
You can see when the History Librarian will be at the Hunt Library Reference Desk, available to help, by logging on to My Andrewand selecting "View Calendar" from the menu on the left (you may need to scroll down). Use the "View Agenda" icon, and search "Susan Collins."
Internet Resources
- Jewish Virtual Library: Library: the HolocaustMaps, photographs, timeline, introductory history, etc.
- Holocaust\Shoah PageIncludes news and current events, glossary of Holocaust terms, chronology, essays, links to other sites, etc.
- Jewish Holocaust 1933-1945Book reviews, documents, glossary, links to other sites, etc.
- Nizkor ProjectHolocaust research guides, concentration camps, Nuremberg Trials, etc.
- Remember.orgImages, maps and photos of the camps, witnesses stories, as well as links to museums, memorials, heroes and rescuers, and other Holocaust specific sites
- Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance AuthorityOn-line exhibits, FAQs, chronology, bibiography, documents, some full text articles from Yad Vashem Studies, etc.









Loading...
