Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-410/810 The Long Eighteenth Century: Start here

This guide covers resources relevant to what scholars constituted as "the long eighteenth century" (1660-1836).

Library Resources

Select Books:

The following are sample titles that cover various aspects of the period from a broad perspective.  You can find more by searching the CAMEO, our library catalog, for "long eighteenth century"

Core Reference Databases:

The following databases are interdisciplinary and are worth checking for encyclopedic sources on the topic.

Databases of specialized collections:

Also see:

Here are select free resources:

18thConnect  - this site gathers together a community of scholars that shapes the world of digital resources. Its main concerns are: Access via plain-text searching for all scholars to open access and proprietary and digital archives including EEBO and ECCO, even if their institutions are unable to afford those resources; Peer-review of the growing number of digital resources and archives for which 18thConnect offers an online finding aid; Reflection on Best Practices with scholars who are negotiating new modes of publication and scholarly production.

Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians - selected full texts, images, articles, videos, audio talks, and biographical information from the vast resources of the British Library, as well as links to BL's catalogs and descriptions of its collections and services.

Folger Shakespeare Library's Image Collections (LUNA) - home to the world's largest Shakespeare collection and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art, Folger Shakespeare Library's website include to major digital image collections: Folger Binding Image Collection, and Folger Digital Image Collection.  They are both searchable and viewable online.

Lewis Day Walpole Library's Digital Image Collection - presents images of visual materials from Library's collection. The majority of the Library's world-renowned collection of English caricatures and political satirical prints from the late-seventeenth through the mid-nineteenth centuries.

London Lives, 1690-1800: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis.  London Lives makes available, in a fully digitized and searchable form, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners. This resource includes over 240,000 manuscript and printed pages from eight London archives and is supplemented by fifteen datasets created by other projects. It provides access to historical records containing over 3.35 million name instances.

Luminarium: An Anthology of English Literature. - Over 5000 pages, this online anthology covers various aspects of the Medieval, Renaissance, 17th century, and restoration periods.

Museum Collections:  The British National Portrait Gallery, Victoria and Albert Museum, and the British Museum all contain digital images.

The Old Bailey Online - an archive of the court proceedings of trials held at London's main criminal court between 1674 and 1913.

Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers.

The William Blake Archive. Texts and images by William Blake.

Here are some relevant subject guides:

Loading