Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

CMUQatar Library: Biological Sciences


The top e-resources for biological science students and faculty members in Qatar are listed here.
To access even more resources, click here to open a new window to the main campus library resources list.

To get help using these resources or doing research, contact

Open/Public Research Databases

PubMed is one of the most popular free, publicly available resources for biomedical literature. It comImage result for pubmedprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Check out the research publications produced by Carnegie Mellon's own Department of Biological Sciences through Research Showcase.

PLoS publishes highly respected and top-ranked open access journals in life and health sciences, including PloS One, PloS Biology, PLoS Computational Biology, and PLoS Pathogens. These journals and their articles are completely free to read on the open web.

QScImage result for qscienceience Journals is the Hamad bin Khalifa University Press collection of open access scientific journals in medicine, engineering, social sciences and the humanities. Many of the articles highlight research being done in Qatar and/or the Gulf region.


Related Guides

These guides provide more in-depth recommendations and research advice for special topics related to biological sciences.

Subscription Research Databases

Nature Journals Online features access to important titles published by Nature; including Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cell Biology,, Nature Chemical Biology, and Nature Genetics. You will be IP authenticated to Nature's website automatically when you are connected to the CMUQ-Secure network.


ProQuest Biology Journals provides full-text access to the archives of over 390 leading scholarly journals in the biological sciences. Browse the issues or keyword search for topics of interest.

The Synthesis Collection from Morgan & Claypool offers complete lectures in PDF on topics in tissue engineering, synthetic biology, and biomedical engineering.

Access Science provides science videos, images and animations that you can use in projects and presentations, explanatory articles about all kinds of scientific topics, biographies of scientists, and definitions of scientific terms.

The premier resource for chemistry and biochemistry: reactions, molecular structures, substances, SciFinder requires new users to register as individuals prior to use. First-time users, register here.

Lab Protocols and Methods

Journal of Visualized Experiments publishes peer-reviewed, video lab protocols and methods. CMU subscribes to JoVE Biology, Jove Developmental Biology, JoVE Immunology and Infection, JoVE Neuroscience, and JoVE Chemistry, as well as JoVE Science Education Basic and JoVE Science Education Advanced.

Wiley's Current Protocols offers the latest peer-reviewed laboratory protocols for life sciences with protocols across a number of sub-specialties including molecular biology.

Biological Procedures OnlineBiological procedures online (part of PubMed) provides freely available, online protocols published from 1998 to the present.



Volume 15 Issue 1Nature Methods (part of Nature Journals Online) offers methodological articles for life sciences. You will be IP authenticated to Nature's website automatically when connected to the CMUQ-Secure network.