Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Architecture: Articles and Papers

Research Databases

Much critical writing and new scholarship about architecture is published in articles. Articles are frequently the best source of information on individual buildings and on research topics in architectural technology.
 

Search research databases to find citation information (i.e. author, title, journal name, date, etc.) for articles. Some article databases include full-text articles. Most databases are specialized by discipline.

 

Search for Articles


Search for Articles in Architecture Databases and Collections

  • EBSCOhost
    Use <Ebscohost> to search multiple architecture databases at one time. Select the <Art & Architecture Source> and <Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals> boxes. Click CONTINUE.


  • Art & Architecture Source
    An excellent index to art journals and selected architecture journals. Includes some citations that the Avery Index misses, and features many full text articles. Select <Choose Databases> and check
    <Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals> box for a more complete search.

     
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    The most extensive index to articles in architecture journals. Use the "Advanced Search" mode for more flexible online searching. Select <Choose Databases> and check
    <Art & Architecture Source> box for a more complete search.

     
  • RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online
    The catalog of the Royal Institute of British Architects library includes both books AND articles. It is especially strong in foreign periodical titles. The catalog also includes citations to other RIBA collections.

     
  • US Modernist Library
    A browsable open digital archive of major 20th-Century American architecture publications.

Search for Articles in Databases for Related Disciplines

Use research databases to search for articles in various fields. For many additional databases see A-Z Databases.


Search for Journals

Search a journal title at Journals to see if Carnegie Mellon has print or online access to a journal. 

Tips for Finding Articles

  • Try Advanced Search interfaces for more flexible searching that may lead to better results.
     
  • Try various terms when searching for information on a topic. For example, terms related to computation in architecture include CAD, CAAD, Computer-Aided Design, Computer-Aided Architectural Design, Architectural Design--Data Processing, Architecture--Data Processing, and "Architectural CAD."
     
  • When you find a citation to an article, note the journal title, the volume number and date of the issue that you need, and the page numbers of the article. Some databases list this information in a Source field.
     
  • Look for a link or a pdf for full text online access to an article, or use the Serials Solutions 360 Link button to look for other means of access.
     
  • Carnegie Mellon may not own an article that you need. Request such articles through Interlibrary Loan.
     
  • Browse periodicals in the Current Arts Journals area in the Arts Library, or in the periodicals collection on the third floor of Hunt Library:
    HUNT FA-JOUR-4
    HUNT UNBDJOUR-3
    HUNT BND-JOUR-3

     
  • Use Ulrichsweb if you want to learn which databases include articles from a specific periodical. Search on the periodical title. Then choose the <Abstracting & Indexing> tab.
     
  • Finding articles is not always easy. Please ask for assistance as needed.

Newspaper Articles

Search or browse available newspapers at Google News: All Newspapers. To search, enter search terms along with <Pittsburgh> or another city or the exact name of a newspaper in the search window. Pittsburgh newspapers are available from 1859-2007, more or less.

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette can be searched at ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Recent issues of the Post-Gazette can also be searched at Post-Gazette.com.

Search US newspapers for a fee at Newspapers.com. For newspapers from additional times and places see: Newspapers.
 

Open Access Architecture Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals includes a list of architecture titles from around the world. Open Access Journals are peer-reviewed scholarly journals that are freely available to access and use.