Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Architecture: Images

Images

Image Databases

  • ARTstor
    A digital image library that includes 2 million images of architecture, art, design, and many other subjects. Especially:
    • Architecture and Design Collection (Museum of Modern Art)
    • Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections (Columbia University)
    • Contemporary Architecture, Urban Design and Public Art (ART on FILE Collection)
    • Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts
    • Islamic Art and Architecture Collection (Sheila Blair, Jonathan Bloom, Walter Denny)
    • QTVR Panoramas of World Architecture (Columbia University)
    • Ezra Stoller Archive (Esto)
       
  • Image Collection, CMU Libraries
    Database of art and architecture images. Part of Carnegie Mellon's Visual Resources Collection. Especially:
    • 20th century architecture
    • architecture at Carnegie Mellon

Image Collections on the Free Web

  • AGRAM Database: Architectural Information
    Work of Aalto, Le Corbusier, Duiker, Jujol, Loos, Melnikov, and Schinkel, Wright is presented on this site with photos, drawings, and models.
     
  • Cities/Buildings Database (University of Washington)
    A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world.
     
  • Digital Imaging Project (Bluffton University)
    Images of sculpture and architecture from Pre-Historic to Post-Modern.

     
  • Esto
    Excellent selection of stock "images of architecture and the built environment" by Ezra Stoller and other photographers.

     
  • galinsky: People Enjoying Buildings Worldwide
    Free access to exciting modern buildings and the means to explore them: photographs, descriptions and practical visitor information.

     
  • Google Image Search
    Google searches the free Web for images. They are frequently not the best that are available, and are commonly low-resolution. But there are a lot of them.

     
  • Great Buildings Collection
    Documentation of important buildings and architects. Project entries may include textual information, photos, drawings, 3-D models, and references.  The web site will tell you if there is additional information on the Great Buildings Collection CD-ROM (see below).
     
  • Historic American Buildings Survey, Historic American Engineering Record, and Historic American Landscapes Survey
    These Federal programs have documented thousanded of historic sites with
    measured drawings, photographs, and written histories since 1933.

     
  • World Images (California State University)
    75,000 examples in all areas of visual imagery, including art and architecture.

Reference Resources

  • Ballantyne, Andrew. Key Buildings From Prehistory to the Present: Plans, Sections and Elevations. London: Laurence King Pub., 2012.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA200 .B355 2012
    Plans and some sections and elevations of about 150 of architecture's greatest hits.

     
  • Blaser, Werner.  Drawings of Great Buildings. Basel: Birkhauser, 1983.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2706 .U6 D72 1983
    Plans and some sections and elevations of 185 of architecture's greatest hits.
     
  • Davies, Colin. Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2006.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA7126 .D38 2006
    MUS-OFC-4 NA7126 .D38 2006 DISC

    The title says it all. Book is accompanied by a CD-ROM with the drawings as .eps and .dxf files.
     
  • Dunster, David. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century. 2 vols. New York: Rizzoli, 1985; London: Butterworth Architecture, 1990.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA680 .D86 1985
    Documents major 20th-century buildings in plans drawn to the same scale (1:250). The first two volumes are: Houses, 1900-1944, and Houses, 1945-1989.

     
  • Global Architecture Book. 13 vols. Tokyo: A.D.A. Edita, 1981.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA680 .G58
    Outstanding visual documentation for many major buildings of the twentieth century.

     
  • Gregory, Rob. Key Contemporary Buildings: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 2008.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2705 .G745 2008
    MUS-OFC-4 NA2705 .G745 2008 DISC

    The title almost says it all. These are building built since 2000. Book is accompanied by a CD-ROM with the drawings as .eps and .dxf files.
     
  • The Great Buildings Collection [CD-ROM]. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold. 1994.
    HUNT MUS-OFC-4
    NA200 .M277 1999 DISC
    Documentation of important buildings and architects. Project entries may include textual information, photos, drawings, 3-D models, and references.  The Great Buildings Collection web site will tell you if there is additional information on the Great Buildings Collection CD-ROM.
     
  • Sacriste, Eduardo. Huellas de edificios; una coleccion de plantas de edificios dibujadas en la misma escala. Building Footprints: A Selection of Ground-plans Drawn to the Same Scale. 2 vols. Buenos Aires: Editorial Universitaria de Buenos Aires, 1962.
    HUNT DESK-4-RES NA2635 .S23
    Plan drawings of famous buildings.

     
  • Stierlin, Henri. Encyclopaedia of World Architecture. 2 vols. New York: Facts on File, 1978.
    HUNT FA-REF-4
    NA202 .S76
    Plans, elevations, sections, and some color photographs of hundreds of important buildings.

     
  • Weston, Richard. Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA2705 .W44 2004
    MUS-OFC-4 NA2705 .W44 2004 DISC

    The title says it all. Book is accompanied by a CD-ROM with the drawings as .eps and .dxf files.
     
  • World Atlas of Architecture. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1984.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 NA200 .W67 1984
    A pictorial history of architecture useful for its variety of color photographs, diagrams, and drawings.

ARTstor

 

ARTstor is a digital image library of 2 million images pertaining to art, architecture, archeology and photography.  ARTstor also provides software tools that enable a variety of educational uses.

HABS/HAER/HALS

The Historic American Buildings Survey, Historic American Engineering Record, and Historic American Landscapes Survey have documented thousanded of historic sites with measured drawings, photographs, and written histories since 1933.

The Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives includes blueprints of measured drawings for selected HABS sites drawn by Carnegie Mellon students. Search "habs" in the record group field to identify these drawings.