Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Databases A-Z

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Full-text collection of current and archived broadcast transcripts from many of the top television and radio news shows in the United States, providing researchers with content from leading sources, including ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, FOX, MSNBC, NBC and others. Trial ends December 18, 2019. Please send comments to Sue Collins
New
"The collection includes 70,000 pages of never-before digitized primary documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera from the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. On completion, The African Diaspora, 1860-Present will include 100,000 pages of international primary and secondary source documents, and 50 hours of video, curated for the Black Studies, African American History, and World History scholar." - web site. Database Guide
New
Access to cutting-edge series on natural events from the depths of the oceans to the Antarctic ice cap, featuring a groundbreaking exclusive HD view into our natural world, Your classrooms and students can now experience breathtaking natural events like never before. Database Guide.
New
CMU's Center for Behavioral and Decision Research sponsors a university membership to CARMA (the Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis). CARMA provides webinars from leading industry methodologists in the social and organizational sciences. To access their content, go to CARMA and create a free account using your andrew.cmu.edu email address.
New
Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers. These maps are for non-commercial use only, and may not be downloaded, clipped, printed, resold, retained or used for commercial or business research purposes, including but not limited to environmental, property or other land use evaluations. Digital Sanborn Maps are reproduced and distributed under license from Environmental Data Resources, Inc. For information on how to obtain maps for commercial and business research purposes, go to www.edrnet.com/sanborn.
New
Covers the full range of energy transition globally, including grid power, all fuels (including oil, gas, coal, nuclear, solar, wind, and other emerging renewables), transportation systems, macroeconomics, and more. Featuring interviews with some of the smartest and most knowledgeable people in energy, longtime energy expert Chris Nelder explores the global energy markets and their ongoing transition away from fossil fuels and toward renewables.
New
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries. Database Guide
New
From the Royal Anthropological Institute, this Teaching Edition is a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and classroom exercises and activities.
New
"Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954 - 2015 " - web site. Database Guide
New
The complete on-line collection of Queen Victoria's journals from the Royal Archives. These diaries cover the period from Queen Victoria's childhood days to her Accession to the Throne, marriage to Prince Albert, and later, her Golden and Diamond Jubilees. Database Guide
New
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection includes at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images. Database Guide
New
Provides high-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.
New
Provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. The platform provides unlimited access to all cases, a user-friendly platform, and downloading cases. SAGE has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).
New
"Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. At completion, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video and 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches)." - web site.
New
Search, individually or in any combination, Bills and Acts 1695-2010, Command Papers 1802-2010, House of Commons Papers 1715-2010, House of Lords Papers 1714-1910, Hansard 1803-2005, Journals 1688-1834, Debates 1774-1805, Histories and Proceedings 1660-1743, and Public Petitions 1833-1918. Database Guide
New
This primary source collection of 1920s newspapers features significant publications of the Ku Klux Klan along with the Catholic, Jewish, and African-American newspapers opposing the Klan and white nationalism in general. For CMU users, the corpus is fully downloadable for text- and datamining purposes.
New
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here, and Wall Street Journal Online (ProQuest) articles are here. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo through ProQuest) are here. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal in the Publication Browse to see options.
New
Provides analysis of critical global trends for policymakers, analysts, academics and readers with an interest in international affairs. Written by a network of experts and on-the-ground influencers, WPR content provides comprehensive and detailed perspectives on a wide diversity of issues including defense and security, diplomacy, economics and more.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...