Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
This is a "reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work." AccessEngineering includes the well-known Schaum's Outline series of books.
Trial
Provides statistics-laden content from nearly 500 papers in a genre spawned by the rapid growth of shipping and international trade. Targeting wealthy merchants, professionals, and the educated elite, mercantile papers often were voluminous with a very large format, making production and subscription expensive. Much of the included information is unavailable elsewhere. Covers 1793-1900. Trial runs until May 31, 2017. Please send comments to Sue Collins
New
"Use DataVis to visually explore materials and their properties. Find and compare material property data, then save your interactive visualizations and share with others." - web site.
Trial
Digitalia Film Library is a multilingual, multinational, streaming video film library. It includes award winning films from Spain, Latin America and Europe, and classic films from North America. Andrew ID required. Trial ends May 3, 2017. Please contact Jill Chisnell or Jeffrey Hinkelman.
Trial
This database contains full text Spanish language electronic books and journals on multiple topics. Trial ends May 3, 2017. Please contact Ethan Pullman.
New
The first worldwide database of awarded research funding. Use Dimensions to see the latest funded research projects in your areas of interest - wherever they are in the world. Off campus access through VPN only.
New
One of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, it is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. Important Note: this is a work in progress. Some dates and full text may not be included. When completed the database will cover 1829-2009.
New
Major Pittsburgh papers over time. Important note: the database is a work in progress, some dates and full text may not be available. When completed, the database will include 1786-2008. For current content, see Pittsburgh Post Gazette
New
A compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law.
New
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
S&P Capital IQ
New
In-depth financial/valuation data resource, including information on equities, credit ratings, transactions, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, executives. Includes an Excel plug-in for data analysis. Only available on the 4 public computer terminals, Hunt Library 1st floor.
Trial
Trial the following databases:
African American Newspapers: Negro Business League Herald, Freedmen's Record
Women's Suffrage: The New Citizen, 1909-1912, The Western Women Voter, 1911-1913, The Remonstrance, 1890-1913.
America and World War I: American Military Camp Newspapers:
Trial ends April 19, 2017. Please send comments to Sue Collins
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...