- ABI/INFORM Complete
(in ProQuest database) articles from scholarly and trade sources, newspapers, and dissertations, on business conditions and trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape worldwide. Access for alumni!
- Academic OneFile
peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on all topics, including management, finance, marketing and economics.
- Accounting & Tax
articles on accounting, tax management, auditing, tax and financial law, governance, and risk management.
- Advertising Age and Ad Age Datacenter
DataCenter offers analysis of global advertising spending; digital media statistics; detailed data on advertising agencies, media companies and top marketers and advertisers; Hispanic marketing. Contents of Ad Age Magazine are here
- Alternative Energy eTrack
covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes research and business news, deals, company and industry analysis, forecasts and market intelligence data for over 100 countries. No downloading available but copy/paste is possible.
- Applied Science and Business Periodicals Retrospective
(1913 - 1983) covers the important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry, plus the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field for the early/mid 20th century.
- Bank Regulatory via WRDS
accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions.
- Barclay Hedge Fund Directory
(you will need to log in with your Andrew ID and PW.) A.pdf directory covering 2,784 international hedge funds in the U.S. Also includes ranking tables grouped by hedge fund strategy.
detailed financial analysis reports on thousands of lines of business, from the national to zip code level, derived from voluminous data from the IRS, Census, BLS, etc. Can be used for benchmarking, business plans, assessing new business opportunities, valuation, and market analysis.
terminal located in rm. 39 in Tepper lower level – financial information system providing analysis and quotes for equities and indices, current company, industry and market news, and economic data for the countries of the world.
- New! Business Expert Press
practical, concise, authoritative e-books on: entrepreneurship and small business, supply and operations management, international business, finance and accounting, social media, marketing strategy, and more. Designed for class use. Fully downloadable - see "Getting Started"
- Business Source Premier
academic and trade journals and magazines in all business disciplines; also industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports. Special feature: online access to the Harvard Business Review.
- Capital IQ - See S&P Capital IQ Netadvantage
a business career self-assessment program.
- CCH Omnitax
Laws, regulations, documents and guides to federal, state, and international taxation and estate planning.
- CDS (Credit Default Swap) data from CMA (Credit Market Analysis)
consensus-based pricing for over-the-counter (OTC) credit instruments.
Tepper's database of alumni and recruiters, maintained by Tepper Alumni Relations.
- Compustat via WRDS
in WRDS – from Standard & Poor’s, one of the most extensive databases of business financial data, covering over 80,000 global firms dating back to the 1950s. (The Netadvantage database
contains a subset of this data, somewhat easier to use.)
- comScore Data via WRDS
Web Behavior Database captures detailed browsing and buying behavior by 100,000 Internet users across the US, 2011 and 2012, from a leading source for Internet audience measurement.
- Conference Board's Business Knowledge Research
authoritative research reports on issues in business management and U.S. and global economics.
- Consumer Reports
Rates consumer products and reports on consumer surveys - used mainly for purchasing.
- Corporate Affiliations
- CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) via WRDS
in WRDS - monthly and daily quotations for stock prices, indices, US Government bonds, and mutual funds; current and historical.
- CUSIP Master File
in WRDS - CUSIP numbers, standardized descriptions and additional data attributes for over 5 million corporate, municipal and government securities in North America.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
- Datamonitor. See MarketLine Advantage.
profiles of companies, industries, and countries, often containing SWOT and 5 forces analysis; also covers M&A and financial deal activity, and market data on a number of consumer products.
historical accounting and financial data for equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives from both developed and emerging markets. (For faculty and PhD students only.)
electronic form of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) providing citations and abstracts for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) reports in ProQuest database
how to find them: in the search box at the top, enter the country name, and in the box where it says "Publication title" enter: eiu.
- Economist Magazine (in ProQuest database)
Articles from 1986 to the present from this esteemed publication on worldwide economic and business topics
- Engineering Village
engineering, communications, computer science, IT, operations research, environmental science, and more.
- Financial Times
Financial news and commentary from the City (London.)
- Frost & Sullivan
Detailed market reports and analysis on technology aspects of many industries. (Many reports are read-only, but you can request a .pdf from email@example.com. For academic use only. Not every feature is available.)
- Gartner Core Research
research reports on a detailed range of technology products and services.
- General OneFile
a general news database, with a very wide range of publications.
- Goldsmith's-Kress Library of Economic Literature
digital collection for researching the literature of economics from the period 1460-1914, providing access to thousands of works from: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library, the Kress Library of Business and Economics at Harvard, the Seligman Collection at Columbia and libraries at Yale.
- Harvard Business Review (in Business Source Premier database)
articles from the famed management journal - but not the "official" case studies. Those can be obtained through your Tepper professor, or purchased directly from their website.
- Historical Annual Reports
.pdfs of annual reports for 800 US companies, some going back to 1844. These are the reports mailed out to shareholders, and so provide not only financial data, but narrative and pictorial snapshots of companies through time.
directory of US and International companies, public and private, with extensive information on each company, including profiles, competitors, financials, and executives.
in-depth industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook for thousands of industries in the US, UK, China, and globally.
- IEEE Explore
technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics
- INFORMS PubsOnline
access to 12 journal titles published by INFORMS, the professional association for operations research and management science.
- International Financial Statistics
and other databases from the International Monetary fund. Time series data used in economic analysis.
- Interview Mastery
useful tips on interviewing skills.
- Investext via Thomson ONE
analyst reports on companies and industries from top investment banks and research firms. NOTE: Click on "Screening & Analysis at the top, and then "Research." Must use Internet Explorer browser, version 9 only.
peer-reviewed scholarly ,journals in all disciplines including management, finance, marketing and economics (not including last 3-5 years, however.)
- Leadership Library
identifies leaders in corporations and financial institutions, government, associations, non-profits, law firms, judicial and foreign representatives, and the media.
- LexisNexis Academic
interdisciplinary, international database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, reports, blogs, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and reference works.
- LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
corporate hierarchies and linkages for all major public and private companies and their subsidiaries worldwide. Provides business descriptions, basic financials, detailed competitor listings, brands, and service firms. Creates lists of foreign firms operating in the US and vice versa, has historical data back to 1993, tracks mergers and acquisitions, and provides executive and board member listings.
- Marquis Who's Who
profiles of 1.4 million of accomplished individuals worldwide, from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.
- MarketLine formerly Datamonitor
profiles of companies, industries, and countries, often containing SWOT and 5 forces analysis; also provides M&A and financial deal activity, case studies, and market data on a number of consumer products.
- Materials Business File
articles on industry news, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade, government regulations, and management issues related to high technology industries.
- McKinsey Quarterly
insights about leadership and management from the well-known consulting firm McKinsey & Co. (free source)
- Mergent Archives
historical and current annual reports in .pdf format for over 5,000 companies, some going back to 1925 (use "Annual Report Search" tab) - equity and industry reports as well.
- Mergent Bondviewer
a wide-range of U.S. corporate and municipal bond data such as: issue details, offering documents, ratings, coupon information, covenants, redemptions and historical pricing.
- Mergent Economics
thousands of time series datasets in economics from 1982 to the present, for the US, Canada, Australia and the UK.
- Mergent Online
has descriptive information and 15 years of financial data for US and foreign companies, both active and inactive. Mergers & acquisitions, SEC filings, institutional holdings, earnings estimates, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading, and thirty years of historical stock prices are provided. Also includes industry and equity research reports, pdfs of US and international company annual reports from 1997, and quarterly fact sheets for US companies.
- Mergent WebReports
provides the searchable scanned copies of pages from Moody's (later Mergent) Corporate Manuals and Municipal & Government Manuals, 1909 to the present. (Use this link
for latest news reports.) These contain detailed descriptions of all significant public companies worldwide: financial statements, histories, properties, mergers and acquisitions, operations, subsidiaries, officers and directors, stocks and bonds.
- OECD iLibrary
documents and databases on economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, and more. Global coverage from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
(choose "OneSource" in left hand column) - covers over 5 million global firms, with industry overviews, ratios, market research and analyst reports. - excellent starting point for getting a lot of information quickly.
- Option Metrics via WRDS
historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Business & Management
specially commissioned essays by leading scholars offering thorough introductions to topics in the discipline for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Economics & Finance
specially commissioned essays by leading scholars offering thorough introductions to topics in the discipline for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners.
- Passport GMID
provides data on consumer market sizes, industry sectors, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands in over 200 countries – current, historical, and forecasted. Both raw data and written reports are available.
- Pittsburgh Business Times Online
Western PA company and business news, plus lists of top local business in every industry.
- Private Equity see Thomson ONE
contains both venture capital funds, private equity firms, funded companies, and their executives in the US, Europe, and Asia, as well as an analytics source for fund performance, commitments, disbursements, and statistics. NOTE: click on "Screening & Analysis" at the top. Must use Internet Explorer 11 browser with Windows 7. When off campus, use the VPN.
has private company financials, information on private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, venture capital fundings, private equity deals, etc. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. Privco is now requiring a personal login using your CMU ID and limiting some downloads - details on the database - but email me if you have a special request for more.
searches several databases together, including ABI/INFORM (above) the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and hundreds of other US national newspapers. Also has industry reports (including First Research from Hoover's), and EIU Viewswire country reports.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Much of the data is available here also; the rest is on microfiche in Hunt Library
covers Psychology and related fields, with relevance for organizational behavior. effectiveness, climate and structure; as well as marketing, working conditions, economics, communication, motivation, etc.
Various modules: For list generation and small business information: US and Canadian companies of all sizes, also new business filings, with data visualization and mapping applications. For corporate research: the OneSource module has extensive corporate information on over 5 million global firms. For historical analysis: US Historical Business module.
top finance magazine covering risk management and the global derivatives market.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
a wide variety of public opinion surveys and other resources , ranging from the 1930s to the present.
- S&P Capital IQ Netadvantage
Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys, Company Profiles, Compustat Excel Analytics, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, Security Dealers of North America, The Outlook, Trends and Projections, and more. (This is not the entire Capital IQ database but contains much of the same data.)
- SAGE Research Methods Online
helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings, combining research methods content with visualization, social networking, and video features.
Giant academic database containing peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - coverage of scientific, medical, technical and social science (management and economics) topics. Citation searching is a feature.
- Social Explorer
visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
- SRDS Local Market Audience Analyst
uses Claritas/Nielsen data to define and correlate target markets, their behaviors and lifestyles. Geographic, demographic, and psychographic data. Note: Click first on "Local Market Audience Analyst" on the left - and must use Internet Explorer browser.
- New! Statista
market, industry, company, and demographic stats, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international
- Testing & Education Reference Center
has current study guides and practice tests for graduate school exams - MCAT, LSAT, GRE - and the TOEFL, as well as a graduate school search feature.
- Thomson ONE VentureXpert/Private Equity
AKA VentureXpert/Private Equity, contains venture capital funds, private equity firms, funded companies, and their executives in the US, Europe, and Asia, as well as an analytics source for fund performance, commitments, disbursements, and statistics. NOTE: click on "Screening & Analysis" at the top (VC firms are included.) Must use Internet Explorer browser 11 with Windows 7. When off campus, use the VPN.
- Thomson ONE Analyst Reports (formerly Investext)
analytical reports on companies and industries from top investment banks and research firms.NOTE: Click on "Screening & Analysis at the top, and then "Research." Must use Internet Explorer browser 11 with Windows 7. When off campus, use the VPN. More detailed instructions here.
(New note: Thomson has increased monitoring use, and threatens to raise prices out of our range if there is too much. Please use the preview functions and download only what you need.)
- Thomson/Reuters company information and news
Open Market Views for news, deal activity, corporate events, and economic indicators. Open Company Views for company data. NOTE: must use Internet Explorer browser 11 with Windows 7. When off campus, use the VPN.
(in WRDS) FINRA's corporate bond market price dissemination service, providing transaction data for corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt.
- Value Line Investment Survey
stock reports offering financial performance data, projections, rankings, analyst consensus, beta, key ratios, and commentary on 3,500 stocks; short industry surveys; and views on the economy from a famed independent investment analyst service.
- Vault/Career Insider
company insider information, occupational overviews, internship programs, career and interviewing practice guides, message boards, etc.
- VentureXpert via Thomson ONE
contains both venture capital funds, private equity firms, funded companies, and their executives in the US, Europe, and Asia, as well as an analytics source for fund performance, commitments, disbursements, and statistics. NOTE: click on "Screening & Analysis" on the left (VC firms are included.) Must use Internet Explorer 11 browser with Windows 7. When off campus, use the VPN.
- Wall Street Journal
use this is for issues from 1984-present. Historical issues (1851-2006) are here,
and Wall Street Journal Online articles are here.
- Web of Science
encompasses the scholarly literature in all fields, including economics, business and finance, used primarily to discover linkages among research publications and researchers. Also calculates journal impact factors in Journal Citation Reports.
independently-researched reports on leading companies, industries and career advice topics. To download guides, find password here.
- Who's Who
same as Marquis Who's Who - profiles of 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals worldwide, from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.
- World dataBank
from the World Bank, provides datasets for more than 700 development indicators, in areas such as finance, communications, the environment, education, labor, health, and economics, for 208 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to the present.
a uniform web interface to current and historical datasets in finance, economics and banking, from multiple sources. Some of those are: Standard & Poor’s Compustat, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) Mergent, Dow Jones, the Federal Reserve, and the Chicago Board of Options Exchange.
- These databases come to you courtesy of
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
Tepper Computing Center
Career Opportunities Center