Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Mathematical Sciences: Books

Finding Math Books at Carnegie Mellon

Searching a library catalog is different than searching in databases that contain journal articles or conference papers. To get better results, it may be necessary to search under a broader keyword than your specific topic. When you enter a keyword in the catalog to look for books, your search is executed on basic pieces of information like the author, title, editor, publisher and subject headings. The book's title and its assigned subject headings assigned in catalog records are often much broader than your topic. Perhaps your topic is only covered in a chapter or grouping of chapters. So keep this in mind and adjust as necessary. You can always ask a librarian for help. Here are some links to help you out:

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

When beginning research on a topic, be sure to first review basic reference sources. These are titles such as subject-specific encyclopedias, subject-specific dictionaries, and a variety of handbooks that each pertain to a particular research topic.

Subject-specific encyclopedias will provide an overview of your selected topic. Many encyclopedia articles will have footnotes that will lead you to additional sources. Dictionaries are also helpful while performing research on a particular topic. Dictionaries will aid in deciphering the language of the field or providing an author with a standard definition of a term. Mathematics handbooks are also useful tools in mathematics research. Handbooks provide a way to locate formulae and data.

Below is a representative list of math specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that are held by the Engineering & Science Library.

Encyclopedias

CRC Encyclopedia of mathematics. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, 2009.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA5 .W45 2009
Encyclopedia of mathematics education. New York : RoutledgeFalmer, 2001.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA11 .E665 2001

Mathematics. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2002.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA40.5 .M38 2002

Encyclopaedia of Mathematics. Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, c1987.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA5 .M3713 1988

Encyclopedia of optimization. Boston: Kluwer Academic, c2001.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA402.5 .E53 2001

Dictionaries
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics. [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Available online for the Carnegie Mellon community via Oxford Reference Online!

Dictionary of classical and theoretical mathematics. Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c2001.
ENG&SCI REFERENCE QA5 .D4984 2001

The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics. New York : Penguin Books, 2003.
Available online for the Carnegie Mellon community via Credo Reference!

Handbooks
Handbook of combinatorial designs. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/Taylor & Francis, c2007.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA166.25 .H36 2007
Handbook of graph theory. Boca Raton : CRC Press, c2004.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE QA166 .H36 2004
Handbook of mathematics for engineers and scientists. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC, c2007.
ENGR&SCI REFERENCE 510.212 P76H
Handbook of mathematical functions with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables. Washington : U.S. Govt.Print.Off., 1972.
Available online for the Carnegie Mellon community via Knovel

Dictionaries, Handbooks and Encyclopedias