Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Mechanical Engineering: Find Facts & Formulas

Search Knovel

Handbooks

Handbooks provide a summary of a specific subject and frequently include data compilations and formulas. Handbooks are also a great place to look for  "quick facts" about a topic.

Handbooks at the Carnegie Mellon Library

Many handbooks in the library can be accessed online. Search the library catalog using keywords such as

mechanical engineering and handbooks

 

 

For more online handbooks, search Knovel, a full text, online collection of over 2,000 handbooks, data collections, and encyclopedias for science and engineering. This database includes over 100 items in the Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering category.

Online Resources

Matematical Constants - Compiled by Steven Finch, Research and Development Team, MathSoft, Inc.

MechEng Calculations

eFunda - A comprehensive suite of Online calculators created by eFunda.

Eformulae.com - An online resource of  engineering formulas, science formulas, math formulas, physics formulas, chemistry formulas, tables, glossary of terms

xCalcs -

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian  Chat/IM/Text Message  and more

Email the Mechanical Engineering Department Liaison Librarian
Call the Mechanical Engineering Department Liaison Librarian at 412-268-2428

Engineering and Science Library Reference Service Hours

Mon - Thurs: 9 am - 8 pm
Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
Sat: 1 pm - 5 pm
Sun: 1 pm - 5 pm

Call the E&S Reference Desk at 412-268-2427
Email the E&S reference Desk