CMU Library Catalog
All holdings of the print and digital collections of Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.
To find out if CMU has access to print or online journals do a Journal Search.
For resources CMU does not have, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide including the holdings of CMU and local public and university libraries. Use this in conjunction with the CMU Library Catalog
Databases for Theatre
Start with these databases ranging from the library catalog to article databases and dissertations to begin theatre research.
A wide range of audio music and sound from the classics to sound effects, analog and digital.
Film and Video Collection
Search and access films and DVDs and streaming video collections
Arts Library Visual Resources
Make this your first stop for finding high resolution subscription image databases at CMU such as ARTstor, AP Images and the Digital Image Database as well as carefully selected open access image collections..
CMU University Archives:
Includes School of Drama Photographs (1914-1981) of productions, costume stills and characer shots, prompt books and more.
Citation Styles and Management
Manuals and tips for Chicago, MLA and APA styles.
The Global Communication Center (GCC) provides free writing consultations for students and the CMU community with trained communication tutors through one-on-one sessions and classroom workshops.
University Archives contains archival collection pertaining to drama that date back to the founding of the Drama Department at Carnegie Tech in 1914. Collections include production photographs from 1914 through the present, programs, prompt books, scripts, costume designs, departmental and faculty papers, and related collections pertaining to the theatre and entertainment careers of Drama School alumnae including:
Barnette, Jane. Adapturgy : The Dramaturg's Art and Theatrical Adapatation.
Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press.
HUNT STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) PN2053 .B319X 2018
Luckett, Sharrell D.and Tia M. Shaffer.
Black Acting Methods: Critical Approaches. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge, 2017.
Dustagheer Sarah and Gillian Woods, eds. Stage Directions and Shakespearean Theatre. London: Bloomsbury Arden Shakespeare, 2018
Brejzek, Thea and Lawrence Wallen. The Model as Performance: Staging Space in Theatre and Architecture. London: Bloomsbury Methuen Drama, 2018.
Knopf, Robert. The Director As Collaborator. New York ; London : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017
To find more new books and other resources in print and electronically in the University Libraries collection:
>Type in your search.
>Sort by Date-newest
Explore this script discovery database brought to you by the National New Play Network, an alliance of non-profit theaters dedicated to the development, production, and continued life of new plays.'
Features: Search, read and download scripts, view writer profiles, contact writers, read script recommendations from professionals throughout the field; search plays by using any number of options including cast size, play length, age level, genre, subject matter, gender or sexual identity and ethnicity; search people by writer type and demographics. Other features include an organization search, periodic “featured lists” of writers, plays and organization, and an index of large-cast shows, solo shows, shorts and 2-person scripts.
American Theatre Wing: Tony and Obie Awards
"Located in the heart of midtown Manhattan, New Dramatists is a hub for the theatre community. Our building’s library is open to the public and houses a rare collection of new play manuscripts, many of which are unpublished and only available to read on site. In addition, we offer specific opportunities for writers, students, composers, actors, directors, other theatre artists, and new play aficionados to engage with our community."
HowlRound is a free and open platform for theatremakers worldwide that amplifies progressive, disruptive ideas about the art form and facilitates connection between diverse practitioners originating at Emerson College
Open web databases
Online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English from 1956 onward.
La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club and the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research (WCFTR) have created digital video access files of a rare collection of videotapes documenting productions from the 1970s are now available to researchers.
La MaMa received a $100,000 grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission in 2017 to have 268 ½ inch open reel videotapes digitized by the Bay Area Video Coalition (BAVC). The tapes contain approximately 170 performances staged at La MaMa dating between 1970-1980. Here is the finding aid.
Internet Shakespeare Editions (ISE) is an open-access, non-profit scholarly website presenting full-text Shakespeare plays and poems, Shakespeare’s life and times, and Shakespeare in performance.
Authored by David and Ben Crystal including a glossary, a thesaurus, and complete lists of playscripts, poems and characters, plus plot summaries and diagrams showing characther interaction and each character's part.
The print edition of the glossary (London ; New York : Penguin Books) is located in the Hunt Library arts reference section
HUNT-FA-REF-4 PR2892 .C78 2002