Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Environment: A Multidisciplinary Research Guide: Databases

Environmental Databases

Environmental Databases by Subject
There are many databases containing environmental information that do not focus exclusively on the study of ecology and the environment. Go to this link:  Databases A-Z for a more comprehensive list of potential resources.

Journal Search
Search  for journals available in print and online at Carnegie Mellon. Please ask a librarian if you cannot locate the journal articles that you need.

Sage Journals Online (collection)
Full-text journals covering the health sciences, life and biomedical sciences, materials science and engineering and social sciences and humanites.


Arts

BuildingGreen.com
Online access to articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN), a product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, and project case studies from a High-Performance Buildings Database.


Business and Economics

BCC Research
This link opens in a new
windowMarket research reports for industries, specializing in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies - but with traditional industries as well. NOTE: When off-campus, use VPN access

World dataBank: World Development Indicators Online and Global Development Finance
from the World Bank - provides datasets for more than 700 development indicators, in areas such as finance, communications, the environment, education, labor, health, and economics, for 208 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to the present.

Proquest Statistical Insight
Contains environment and climate-related reports such as Environmental Impact Statements, water and air pollution reports, and toxicity records with graphs, charts, tables and data sets.


Sciences and Engineering

AccessEngineering
This is a "reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work." AccessEngineering includes the well-known Schaum's Outline series of books.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. (ProQuest)

ACS This link opens in a new windoACS Publications (American Chemical Society)
Full text of journals of the American Chemical Society including  Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering, Chemical Research in Toxicology, Environmental Science and Technology and Journal of Natural Products.ASCE Library This link opens in a new windo

ASCE Library
Locate articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering with access to more than 40,000 full text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.

Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts
Covers applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Biotechnology Research Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences in the biotechnology areas of medical, agricultural, and bioengineering

 

Chemical Abstracts/SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is an interface to scientific information from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS); search more than 14 million chemical references and more than 223 million substances; point-and-click access to the entire CA database, with references to nearly 9,500 journals going back to 1907, as well as patents from 29 countries, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations. It covers world-wide literature in all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and related sciences. Citations are linked to full text articles of electronic journals to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes. Links to full text patents are also available in many cases.

 

Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world in the life sciences, environmental and aquatic sciences from 1995 with older material in physics, engineering and materials science

Ecology Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences in aquatic ecosystems, terrestrial ecosystems, and bioengineering.

Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
2007 SAGE Publications, Inc.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
2008 SAGE Publications, Inc.

Engineering Village
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.

Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex, check the appropriate box at the top.

NTIS
Describes government technical reports from the U.S. and other countries. Good for locating reports that one should be able to obtain for free from NASA, DOD, DOE, EPA and other agencies. To limit to NTIS, check the appropriate box at the top.

Environmental Engineering Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Citations and abstracts to articles on air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.

GlobalData Power (previously Alternative Energy eTrack)
Covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes news, deals, analysis, forecasts, and more

Green Energy: An A-to-Z Guide
2010 SAGE Publications, Inc.

Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to articles in environmental health, occupational safety, pesticides, toxicology, emergency management, security, and accidents.

Pollution Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in air pollution, marine pollution, and waste management.

PubMed
More than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Risk Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to articles on biological and technological risks and natural hazards.

Sustainability Science Abstracts
Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.

Toxicology Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to articles on pharmaceuticals, chemicals, and contaminants in the environment.

TOXLINE
Citations and abstracts to articles on toxicology, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, and antidotes.

Water Resources Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to articles on water resources, water and wastewater treatment, and water pollution.


Public Policy

CQ Press Electronic Library
an excellent resource for nonpartisan news and analysis of public affairs. It provides full-text web access to Congressional Quarterly's premiere publications, the CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, and CQ Almanac.

 
 

Full text access to the "codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register."

Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E)  
Leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets with five daily online publications are considered “must-reads” by people who track and influence.

Environmental Impact Statments: Digests
Access to the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. Entries include a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates. energy, environmental and climate policy.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
2007 SAGE Publications, Inc.

 
 

Access to Federal Register Collection and Code of Federal Regulations.


National Archives: Federal Register: The Daily Journal of the United States Government: Environment

National Council for Science and the Environment
Site for NCSE which fosters collaborations between institutions and individuals creating and using environmental knowledge to make science useful to policies and decisions on critical environmental issues.  


Proquest Congressional (Lexis-Nexis Congressional)
Provides comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information; includes congressional publications, current topics of debate, members and committees, full text of proposed and recent bills, laws and regulations, and much more. From this site, you can also search the Federal Register and other documents.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Contains environment and climate-related reports such as Environmental Impact Statements, water and air pollution reports, and toxicity records with graphs, charts, tables and data sets.
Thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Recent data is available here; earlier data is on microfiche in Hunt Library.

Reports, decisions, and records of the official case law of some of the most important U.S. Federal Agencies.

Compilation of related legislative documents that precede the enactment of a U.S. public law
 


Transportation

TRID: the TRIS and ITRD database (National Academy of Sciences)
Bibliographic database which shares transportation research nationwide through records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.


Cross-Disciplinary

Journals from Cambridge University Press in all subject areas.Citations and selected full-text journals across disciplines. Browse the Subject list for journals related to the environment.

Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.


INSPEC
Includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. To limit to INSPEC, check the appropriate box at the top

 

Greenfile
Open-access to citations and full-text scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports on human effects on the environment. Compiled by EbscoHost.

Sustainable Communities Online
Newly revised, updated, and redesigned website formerly known as the Sustainable Communities Network (SCN) website which was developed by a broad coalition of organizations around the United States in the mid-1990s. The intent of the SCN was to pool information on sustainability to make it more readily accessible to the public. CONCERN, Inc. and the Community Sustainability Resource Institute managed the SCN from 1993–2001 and CONCERN has managed it since then.

 


Newspaper and journal articles in all disciplines...

Academic OneFile Articles on all subjects

ArticleFirst Scholarly citations in all disciplines

General OneFile Articles on all subjects

LexisNexis Academic (will soon change to Nexis Uni)
Features full-text access to business, legal and general medical/health information. This database offers continually updated news items, background information on current issues, company financial information, company and industry news, law reviews, federal case law, accounting and auditing tax information, and access to quick information through online reference resources and directories. LexisNexis also has a section that includes full-text of several health newsletters and abstracts of articles in major medical journals.

ProQuest
Newspaper and journal articles on all subjects

Web of Science
a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities. Users may choose to search across all the databases, or select just one. This unique database indexes and links cited references for each article. All formats provide complete bibliographic data and additional features, such as cited reference searching, links to related articles, plus author and publisher addresses.



CMU Libraries Databases for a more comprehensive list of databases across disciplines.

Questions?

For more information: contact your departmental liasion librarian about more environmental resources and research options in your areas of study.


webmaster: md2z@andrew.cmu.edu