Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Environment: A Multidisciplinary Research Guide: Pittsburgh Environment

Grass Roots and NGOs

"Sustainable Pittsburgh affects decision-making in the Pittsburgh region to integrate economic prosperity, social equity, and environmental quality as the enduring accountability, bringing sustainable solutions for communities and businesses."
Take the  “I Am Sustainable Pittsburgh” pledge.

 


Pittsburgh is a member of the Biophilic Cities Network.

 

 



Communitopia is a Pittsburgh-based network of project-based campaigns advocating for individual, community and federal solutions to reduce greenhouse gas pollution and improve community resilience and "Making Green Mainstream". Includes Don't Just Sit There,  Do  Something! a series of humorous staged character monologues performed by  Communitopia President Joylette Spurlock.

 


Fracktracker Alliance studies and communicates the risks of oil and gas development to protect our planet and support the renewable energy transformation.




Green Building Alliance




Maren's list of environmental, cultural,
and social justice events and related
resources for Pittsburgh.



Phipps Conservatory Green Innovation


 Public Resources Council Pennsylvania



publicsource.org
Non-profit independent investigative news source in the Pittsburgh public interest including health and the environment.


 

Sierra Club, Pennsylvania Chapter

Archives

 
Nine Mile Run Greenway Project Records (AIS.2006.19A) University of Pittsburgh Archives
The Nine Mile Run Greenway project was created and coordinated by Reiko Goto, Bob Bingham, and Tim Collins of Carnegie Mellon University’s STUDIO for Creative Inquiry. The records of the project contain material that documents the Nine Mile Run area’s transformation from a brownfield site to a usable urban space that includes both housing and natural environments; includes maps with printed reports concerning population, waste-water run-off, pedestrian routes and tributaries related to NMR and neighborhood maps including but not limited to the City of Pittsburgh, Swissvale, Edgewood and Wilkinsburg.  For more information, click here to contact the Archives.

 


Michell Madoff Papers, University of Pittsburgh Archives

Papers of the Pittsburgh activist and politician related primarily to combatting air pollution in Pittsburgh. Collection Dates: 1970-1977.
Extent: 10.0 linear feet (6 boxes) including reports and booklets, research information and newsletters, energy production research, and related proposed testimony and legislation, project correspondence and more.

Questions?

For more information: contact your departmental liasion librarian about more environmental resources and research options in your areas of study.


webmaster: md2z@andrew.cmu.edu