Articles - English: Program - Creative Writing - LibGuides at Carnegie Mellon University

Core Databases

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here, you'll find a list of major databases that contain full-text and/or citations for a variety of journals relevant to English. These are good starting points for research in various areas related to English studies:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles and has extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
supplies biographical and bibliographical information and references on over 120,000 American and international authors.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
has full-text access (with a search interface) to important academic journals, including 80 language and literature journals.

Literature Resource Center
provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Our licence allows only one user at a time. Be sure to log-out when you are done.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
provides 100% full-text access to university press journals and over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

Proquest Direct
provides convenient search and retrieval from thousands of publications. Many articles are in full-text and image format.

Specialized Databases

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

These databases contain primary documents and tend to be more specialized:

Medieval Travel Writing
provides access to medieval manuscripts dating from 13-16th centuries from libraries around the world.
Travel Writing
brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.
Social and Cultural History
brings together, on a single cross-searchable platform, the entire family of letter and diary databases that are available exclusively by purchase or subscription through Alexander Street Press: North American Women's Letters and Diaries;British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries;Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.

Finding More Journals

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here are some major titles relevant to creative writing:

The Atlantic Monthly (Print, available at Hunt Library, shelved by title)
Harper's (Print, available at Hunt Library, shelved by title)
The New Yorker (Print available at Hunt Library, shelved by title)
The Paris Review (Print, available at Hunt Library, shelved by title)
Ploughshares (Print, available at Hunt Library, shelved by title)

Note: I also listed some "free" online magazines under websites

If you know the title of the journal, then you can search to see if it is available online and if the article is also available. Online journals vary in availability, so be sure to check listed dates.

In addition, you can get a list of e-journals by catagory (Literature is listed as a subcatagory of Art and Humanities).

Begin here:

English: Program - Creative Writing: Articles

Core Databases

Specialized Databases

Finding More Journals