Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: Capitalism, Poverty, & Labor

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

Guide for Capitalism, Poverty, and Labor

Scope: This subject guide is designed to introduce you to available resources related to Capitalism, Poverty, and Labor in general as well as specific research interested related to the above mentioned course. The resources should help you answer the questions introduced under course objectives on your syllabus, but should you need additional assistance feel free to contact me directly.  

CATALOGS: CAMEO is the Carnegie Mellon online catalog. But don’t forget to check other library catalogs. Here are

some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searched.

-- Use multiple terms and vary search fields. Here are some examples:

  • Poverty (as a Subject) AND England (as a Subject)
  • England (as a Subject) AND Poor (as a Word/Phrase)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in the catalog. Here are some examples:

  • England—Economic conditions OR England—History—17th Century
  • Poverty in Literature OR Poverty—England—History
  • Social perception

DATABASES  

Academic oneFile: contains citations, abstracts, and selected full-text articles from scholarly and general journals covering all academic disciplines.  

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (In Web of Science): is an excellent database for both, literature and economic approaches, on the topic for this class. It contains leading journals from both the humanities and social sciences and its extensive indexing enables great flexibility when researching topics. One of the greatest futures of this database is the ability to quickly identify the relevance of the results based on citing frequency and other aspects.  

EconLit (in FirstSearch: Business & Economics): is an expanded version of the classified article index part of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), which is the standard tool used for locating economics literature.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online: contains relevant primary and secondary sources. Unfortunately, it is not indexed by topic, so you’ll have to be creative using keywords (refer to search tips).  

Literature Resource Center (LRC): provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Our license allows only one user at a time. Be sure to log-out when you are done.

MLA International Bibliography: is the premiere reference tool for the critical study of language, literature, and folklore. It provides citations to books, book chapters, periodical articles, and dissertations in all languages for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.  

The Making of the Modern World: is a comprehensive digital collection for the study of early economic, political, business, and social history, and for researching the literature of economics from this period. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration, along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University. The end result is a database that allows many ways to search, including full text, the more than 12 million pages from 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials.

Other Relevant Guides at CMU: There are many other guides with additional resources that may be useful. Here's some good starting point, but don't hesitate to contact me (see left margin) with specific question:

English Guide

Business Guide

 

also relevant

Public Policy & Information Systems

Social and Decision Sciences