LibGuides: History: 79-377 Food, Culture, and Power: A History of Eating: Journal and Magazine Articles

Journal and Magazine Articles

Need more databases? See the A-Z Database list, which can be filtered by subject or type.. The best databases to use will vary by topic. Ask A Librarian or Ask the History Librarian for help!

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
All subject academic database, covers material published from ca. 1980 - present.
Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" icon to see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What You Need" tab. Along with full text, the database offers the option for MP3 download.

Agricola
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. For all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, etc.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Allows searching by historical time period of subject of articles. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983 This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from 1913 - 1983 covering events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry, applied science and technology.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines, including the Harvard Business Review; also industry, company, and country reports.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of full text academic journals in all disciplines. Usually does NOT cover the most current 3-5 years. Also includes eBooks from leading academic publishers
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tank" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Database Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ca. 2000-present (exact dates vary by publication). Good companion database to JSTOR. No deep backfile, is mainly current years in all subject areas.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
1890-1982. Search for citations from articles in popular magazines. To get full text, click on the "Get It" icon to see the retrieval options.

ScienceDirect
Search the full text of many science, medical or technical journals, including those in the food sciences

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952-present. Covers the the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Database Guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
ca 1900-present. A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

History Librarian

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, History, Language & Linguistics, Religion, Women's Studies