History: 79-377 Food, Culture, and Power: A History of Eating: Background

By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of a number of terms in nutrition and food technology (an increase of 20% from the previous edition). The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, & domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; & their impact on cultures & demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history & culture of food and drink & takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, & taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies & sketches out brief histories of plant foods..

Describing foods, cooking techniques, herbs, spices, desserts, wines, and the ingredients for pleasurable dining.

This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline

First published in 1983, John Mariani's Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

Survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.

HUNT STACKS-3 TX370 .S63 2006
Has entries on current controversies such as mad cow disease and factory farming, the food pyramid, movie tie-ins, and marketing to children, It takes readers behind the scenes, examining the significance of such things as uniforms, training, packaging, and franchising.

HUNT OVRSZQ-3 TX653 .S57 2004
The breadth of topics, including the evolution of the chimney, the uses of fruit from the Pleistocene to the present, cutlery as a status symbol, salt, weights and measures, canisters, and cannibalism, offers more than a glimpse into the social and scientific aspects of the center of family and community life. The term kitchen is used in the broadest sense, encompassing campfires, galleys, and mess tents, among other variations.

HUNT STACKS-3 TX349 .L365 2001

Contains comprehensive definitions for a significant number of wine related terms, including innumerable details on grape varieties; wine styles; wine label terms; etc.

Covers the terms used in wine production, and describes grape varieties, wine regions and wine-growers around the world, wine styles and tasting terms. And because wine-producing is a science as well as a craft, it explains the basic chemistry that can make or mar a great wine.

HUNT OVRSZQ-3 TX349 .D38 2006
Information on specific foods, cooking terms, culinary tools, countries, traditions, and biographies of chefs and cookbook authors. The entries for countries cover foods, habits, and holidays with special foods.