The subscription databases listed below will be good start in obtaining a variety of scholarly journals, trade journals or popular magazines not normally found on the open-access web.
For more databases navigate to Databases for Theatre or CMU Libraries Databases A-Z
Research Hint:
When searching subscription databases such as the selections below, search as simply as you can.
Unlike searching the open web, too many keywords can hinder a successful result.
Article databases for theatre
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new wi
A unique source covering all aspects of world dress and fashion throughout history; integrated text and image database including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, articles, essays, e-books and more.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Cites articles and books with selected access to full-text content relating to all aspects of performance and the theatre; replaces the scholarly print edition of the International Bibliography of Theatre.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts)
Cites international scholarly and poplular articles on the performing arts, except music. It also cites performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Most records include an abstract in addition to the citation. The retrospective database draws citations from 46 periodicals and dates back to 1864.
Literature Resource Center
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors and their works, covering all genres, disciplines, time periods and regions of the world. This database could be a good place to start to get a variety of resources and background information about a play, production, artists, directors etc. Search by content type: biography, multimedia, news, literary criticism, primary sources and literary work, and topic.
MLA International Bibliography
Venerated reference database for finding citations to books, book chapters, periodical articles, and dissertations in all languages for all periods from the Middle Ages to present.
Arts article databases
Art and Architecture Source (formerly Art Source)
Focus on art and architecture; combines article databases Art Full-Text, Art Index Retrospective and Art and Architecture Complete with increased access to full-text content. International coverage including some full-text books and images.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, books, dissertations and essays; covers 1974 to present.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals
Arts:Search (Design) :Search three linked databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective, a journal index; Design ProFILES, a biographical dictionary; and ReVIEW, digitized journals.
Cross-discplinary article databases
*JSTOR Full-text scholarly journals and primary resources
*Project Muse Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals and books
*Proquest U.S. newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, dissertations and reports.
Academic OneFile Full-Text articles on all subjects.
ArticleFirst Citations to scholarly journal articles in all disciplines
Credo Reference Full-text dictionaries and encyclopedias across disciplines
General OneFile. Full-text journals in all disciplines
Oxford Reference Online Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries across disciplines
For scholarly articles on the open web, try Google Scholar.
For more databases navigate to Databases for Theatre or CMU Libraries Databases A-Z.