Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

CMU-Africa: Find Conferences

An introductory guide for students and faculty on our Rwanda campus.

About Conference Papers

What?

Conferences papers are the papers presented at a conference, meetings, symposia, etc. by individual speakers.
Proceedings are the collection of conference papers that are published by the organizing institution of the conference or via a publisher.  They are distributed as printed books, on CDs, or made available on the Web.  Proceedings may include whole papers or just the abstracts.

Search Proceedings Online

Google Scholar

arXiv -- provides access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, and computer science

Finding Proceedings and Conference Papers

Locating conference proceedings can be complicated because of variations in:
  • publication title
  • publication type (separate, one-time publications, serials, or as special issues in journals)
  • content (abstracts, extended abstracts, or complete papers)
  • publication date (some proceedings may be published long after the actual conference date)
  • sponsoring associations' name

Try several approaches and don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help.

 
Search for conference proceedings in:
  • CAMEO, the Carnegie Mellon library catalog
  • Online (individual or institutional websites)

      CAMEO, the library catalog

      CAMEO

      • Do an Author search - the best way to search for proceedings in CAMEO 

      E.g., search "International Conference on Computer Aided Design" as the Author, then scroll to the title of interest.  If known, limit by year of the conference or any other keyword.

      • Do a Keyword search on unique words in the title and/or sponsoring organization 

      E.g., IEEE mechatronics

      NOTE:  Exact title searching is not recommended due to the variability in the format of conference titles.

      Databases

      General Search

       
      Covering a broad range of subjects, this database is an index to every worldwide published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting that is included in OCLC.  Every record inludes a list of the papers presented at each conference. 
      The extended search fields list makes this database the best way to search for proceedings.

       

      Specialized Search

      Most professional organizations offer access to their sponsored conferences.

      Compendex and Inspec, via Engineering Village

      Need Help?

        - Ask a Librarian chat / IM / text message

          - Email:   Science Libraries Reference Service

              ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)

                Use ILLiad to request standards unavailable at E&S.  This service is subsidized up to $35/standard and fees may accrue if item costs more.

                Share This

                Share |