Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: 54-281: Foundations of Drama II: 20th Century Productions: Media Resources

Streaming media


Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
More than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The L.A. Theatre Works Collection is also available in Drama Online.

Digital Theatre Plus
Recent British theatre productions streamed in high definition; additional educational content. One year trial.

Medici.tv
Offers filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.

Ontheboards.tv
High-quality films of full-length performances by current provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.

Dance Online: Dance in Video
Productions and documentaries in streaming video with influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, and forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance;search, browse, cite or bookmark videos to the moment; make custom clips, annotate and share them.

Theatre in Video
Definitive performances and documentaries in streaming video with leading actors, playwrights and directors covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Includes contemporary revivals of classic works, television broadcasts of New York productions, experimental performances and more;search, browse and bookmark scenes, monologues, and staging examples to a link that can be shared.

Met Opera on Demand
Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

Music in Video: Classical Music in Video
Streaming video of classical music performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Opera in Video
Important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries; selections are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

American Newsreels in Video
News footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War.

World Newsreels Online
Captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural contex


Streaming Music and Scores Online

Music Online: American Music
Streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present.

Music Online: Classical Music Library
Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Encompasses more than one million pages of classical scores for teaching and study. Includes a mix of public domain, previously unpublished, and in-copyright works from all major classical music genres and time periods.

Library Music Source
This is the online version of the CD Sheet Music and Orchestra Musician’s CD-ROM Library CD-ROMs. The music is selected from out-of-copyright standard editions from publishers such as Breitkopf and Hartel, C.F. Peters, G. Schirmer, Carl Fischer, G. Ricordi, Durand and many others. The editorial staff for CD Sheet Music has chosen the best edition available for each work.


Music and Performing Arts
Allows cross-searching of audio, video, scores and full text reference content from all Alexander Street Press Music databases to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes..

Naxos Music Library
Streaming recordings for genres such as Classical, Jazz, Blues, Nostalgia, World, Contemporary Instrumental, Chinese, Pop and Rock, Gospel, Spoken Word, and Relaxation. iPhone and Android apps available.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Streaming music from the artists and collections of Fantasy Records.

Images

New York Theatre, 1919-1961
26,000 photographs from the Vandamm Collection in the New York Public Library.

HUNT MICROFICHE-3 792 N532 (Hunt Library, 3rd floor)


Vandamm Theatrical Photographs 1900-1957

Digital  image  library of much of the Vandamm Collection in New York Public Librar

 


 Arts Library Visual Resources Collection


Life Photo Archive (Google/Life)
1860s-1970s

 

Life Magazine Archive (CMU database subscription)
November 1936- December 2000

 


Time/Life Pictures (Getty Images)


Time Magazine  Archive

Complete digital version of more than 77 years of the prominent weekly news magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format in PDF.

Questions?

Mo Dawley
Art and Drama Librarian

Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Send Email