Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Materials Science & Engineering : Materials & Metallurgy Resources

Access to key handbooks and journals

FIND:  Print volumes of ASM Handbooks in the Reference Collection: TA459 .M43

Find Materials Science information

 
ASM Materials Engineering Dictionary
Book collection:  TA402 .A85
 
Concise Encyclopedia of Magnetic & Superconducting Materials
Book collection:  QC764.52 .C66
 
Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials
Book collection:  TA404.8 .E53
 
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design
Reference collection:  TP9 .E66 
 
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Reference collection:  TA402 .E53 
 
 
 
 
Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
Reference collection:  TA403.4 .C74
 

Polymers, Ceramics, and Composites

 
Composite Materials Handbook  - check Library Catalog for volume availability
 
Book collection:  TP788 .M38
 
Book collection:  TP788 .S6
 
Engineered Materials Handbook
Reference collection:  TA403 .E497
  • v. 1. Composites
  • v.2. Engineering plastics
  • v.3. Adhesives and sealants
  • v.4. Ceramics and glasses
Reference collection:  TA455 .P474

Metals and Alloys

Dictionary of Metallurgy
Book collection:  TN609 .B76
 
Illustrated Dictionary of Metalworking and Manufacturing Technology
Book collection:  TS204 .I36
 
Metallic Materials Specification Handbook
Latest edition in Reference collection
Book collection:  TA461 .R67
 
The Metals Black Book - ferrous Metals
Contains data from standards, chemical compositions, mechanical and physical properties.
Book collection:  TA466 .B74
 
The Metals Red Book - nonferrous Metals
Contains data from standards; includes aluminum, copper, nickel, titanium, zinc, tin, precious metals, zirconium, cobalt alloys
Book collection:  TN693 .N6M48
 
Reference collection:  TN690.4 .V55

Where do I find these resources?

Electronic resources have URL links.

Print materials in the Book collection and Reference collection are available at the Sorrells Engineering & Science Library, 4th Floor, Wean Hall.

Offsite Storage available by-request via the Library's catalog.

Stop by and we will help you locate what you need.

Can't find a resource?  Let us know:

Suggest a resource