LibGuides: Business and Industrial History: Research and Development

Research and Development

Below are some resources for finding R&D information. In addition to those listed, there are many other government publications that deal with R&D. You can find them by searching the Proquest Statistical Insight database, and the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Other indicators of R&D activity can be published articles or patents. To see what articles have been produced out of a particular lab or company, you can search Web of Science, typing keywords from the company or laboratory name and having it search in "address." You can limit by time frame or add other types of searches to this. U. S. Patent and Trademark Office identifies useful resources for patent searching.

Directory of American Research and Technology
1991-1998
HUNT REF-1 T176 .I65
All known non-governmental facilities active in commercially-applicable basic and applied research. Facilities are listed alphabetically and include number of staff, and fields of R&D. Geographic, personnel, and subject indices are in the back of the volume.
Sample page: 1998
Continues:
Industrial Research Laboratories of the United States, including Consulting Research Laboratories
HUNT REF-1 T176 .I65 1946, 1950, 1960, 1975, 1979, 1982, 1983

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh Main (Oakland) Second Floor - Closed Reference (Please ask for assistance) rq T176 .I65
1956, 1960, 1965, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1985.
Continues:
Research laboratories in industrial establishments of the United States of America.
HUNT REF-1 T176 .I65 1ST 1920
Edgar
Database of documents filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) from ca. 1993 to the present. About Edgar provides detailed information on the material in the database. Money spent on R&D is reported in the 10-K (usually Part I). You may find it easier to find this information by using Mergent Online.

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Full text: 1844-current.
Over 800 companies' annual reports available through searchable PDF images. Reports can be browsed or searched in a variety of ways. There may be discussions of R&D in the textual portion of the report. Amount spent on R&D may show up in the financials.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search and display company information. Financials can be displayed for the past 15 years. Only provides the most recent 10-K (via Edgar Tab), which is where companies report R&D spending. Money spent on R&D for past 15 years can be found in Company Financials-All Sections (Look for Research and Development as well as Purchased Research and Development).

National Science Foundation. An Analysis of Federal R&D Funding by Function. Survey of Science Resources Series.
1960 -1979.
The University of Pittsburgh, Hillman Library, and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh may have paper copies of this as well.
Federal R & D funding by budget function
1979-2001
Federal Funds for R&D Research
ca. 1950-2002 (exact dates vary by table)
Microfiche: 1975-present
HUNT REF-1 ASI Microfiche ASI 9627-20
Microfiche: Detailed Historical Tables, FY51-2002
HUNT REF-1 ASI Microfiche ASI 2003 9627-38
The University of Pittsburgh, Hillman Library, and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh may have paper copies of this as well.
Federal R&D Funding by Budget Function
ca. 1993-2002. Exact dates vary by table.
Microfiche: Fiscal Years 1979-1981 to the present
HUNT REF-1 ASI Microfiche 9627-9
The University of Pittsburgh, Hillman Library, and the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh may have paper copies of this as well.
Business and Industrial R&D
1991-present.
New York (State). Dept. of Commerce. Directory of Industrial Research Laboratories in New York State.
Print: 1972
HUNT REF-1 T176 .N46 1972
Print: 1954, 1967
University of Pittsburgh, Hillman Library T176 .N532
Print: 1954, 1964-1967
University of Pittsburgh, ULS Sorage T176 .N532
R & D Ratios & Budgets
HUNT REF-1 T176 .R2 2002-2009
HUNT REF-1 T176 .R2 DISC 2008 CD-ROM (ask at Hunt Library Reference Desk)
Historical and forecasted R & D budgets and ratios covering the period 2002-2009. Information is listed by SIC code and company name, and alphabetical by company.
Research & Development Growth Trends: Inflation Adjusted Analysis of R & D Spending.
HUNT REF-1 T176 .R4244 2008
HUNT REF-1 T176 .R4244 DISC 2008 CD-ROM (ask at Hunt Library Reference Desk
Information is listed by SIC code and company name, and alphabetical by company.
Directory of Independent Commercial Laboratories Performing Research and Development, 1957.
Print: 1958
University of Pittsburgh, HSLS Storage T178 S995 1957
Statistical Abstract of the United States
1878-present.
Print: HUNT REF-1 HA202
Full Text: 1878-present
Starting in 1953, Research and Research and Development appear in the indices, with the number of tables on this topic increasing over the years.

History Librarian

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, History, Language & Linguistics, Religion, Women's Studies