Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Modern Languages: 82-342 - Spain: Language and Culture: Looking for books?

Finding books

Now that you have your topic and some search words, you need to find books.  Use the search words and try searching the following library catalogs:

 

Carnegie Mellon University (CAMEO) - use your search terms to search for books we own.

The University of Pittsburgh (PITTCat) - With your CMU ID, you can obtain a special borrower card that allows you to borrow books from their collection. 

Other local and National library catalogs - you can locate more books here and use our interlibrary loan service (see below) to locate them.

 

Still can't find what you need?

If you give your selfl time, you can borrow books you need from one of our Interlibrary Loan services listed below:

- E-Z Borrow/PALCI - Search PA libraries for books (no Articles)

ILLiad - register with our borrowing services (Interlibrary Loan) to borrow articles from just about anywhere.

TIP:

When you locate a record, click on the title to see the full record.  The full record provides clues for other subjects or similar items (see example below - click on image to enlarge):

Open Access (free) Books

Antología de Poesía Española - Electronic texts of Spanish and Latin American poetry from the thirteenth to the nineteenth century. The poetry included is searchable by author or first line. There are both English and Spanish search interfaces for this site, but the text of the poems is available only in Spanish.

Biblioteca Digital Cátedra - The publisher Cátedra provides online access to a number of books that are difficult to locate in print.

Biblioteca Virtual: Miguel de Cervantes - A wonderful open-access repository of  Spanish historical texts and literature of Spanish and Spanish American writers. Contains biographies, chronologies, complete works, translations, sound recordings, interviews, filmographies, dictionary, images, and more. Officially launched in 1999, number of available works has reached over 22,000.  It contains all the works of Cervantes including various historical versions.  Links to many other portals to Spanish and Latin American literary sites.  An initiative of La Universidad de Alicante, Banco Santander Central Hispano, with the collaboration of Fundación Marcelino Botín. 

HatiTrust - Offers open access to over 10 million digitized multidisciplinary and multi-lingual sources.

Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional de España) - A large and growing collection of Spanish historical newspapers and journals digitized by the National Library of Spain.  Coverage is 17th to early 20th Century and primarily from Spain but includes some content from Argentina, Uruguary, Mexico and Cuba.  See current title list 

LIBRO: Library of Iberian Resources Online - Joint Project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and University of Central Arkansas, contains full text of recent but out-of-print university press books.  Focus is on history of peninsular Spain from 5th to 17th Century.

Sonetos del Siglo de Oro: Golden Age Spanish Sonnets - This site, sponsored by a Spanish professor at Sweet Briar College, offers the full-text of Spanish sonnets. Texts are in both Spanish and English. There is an index of poets featured, but the sonnets are searchable by first line. Links are also provided to Spanish- and English-language websites for literary texts and some criticism.