LibGuides: History: Secondary Works: Journal Articles-Humanities and Social Sciences

Journal Articles-Humanities and Social Sciences

For a complete listing of databases see Databases A-Z. These database can be sorted by subject and/or type so you can find relevant ones easily, for example, History.

After searching and looking through results, if there is no link to full text for your article, use the button to see retrieval options. We can obtain copies of articles we don't have via interlibrary loan, but first you'll need to register. See the tab "If We Don't Have What you Need: Journal Articles" for more details.

Not sure of which databases to use, or need help with a search strategy? Don't hesitate to ask!

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles, book reviews and dissertations with links to full text. Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910 to the present. Unique feature: search historical periods down to the decade. You can also search America: History and Life & Historical Abstracts together.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index to arts and humanities journals searchable by subject or cited reference.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of publications devoted to women and gender issues, 1970-present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Carnegie Mellon users only. Citations and abstracts to journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including all areas of history. Covers articles written from 1955 to the present. Unique feature: search historical periods down to the decade. You can also search America: History and Life & Historical Abstracts together.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search full text of articles in important academic journals in all disciplines. Exact dates of coverage varies by journal. NOTE: latest few years not available.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
ca. 1916-present. Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of it is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Database Guide
OxResearch This link opens in a new window
A subset of the Business Market Research Collection database, it includes succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing. Created by Oxford Analytica, this powerful multi-disciplinary database helps students research and analyze the impact of probable developments on the business climate.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
ca. 1800 - 2000. Historical backfiles of periodicals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Exact dates of coverage varies by periodical. Database Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search current full text of humanities and social science journals. Exact dates vary by journal title. NOTE: Usually no coverage of material published pre-2000.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers articles written in social science journals from 1900-present, with links to full text. Unique feature: You can see the citations references in the article (who author cites) and also search and see who cites a particle author, as well as how many times an article has been cited.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952-present. Covers the the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Database Guide

Subject Guide

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, History, Language & Linguistics, Religion, Women's Studies