Some good starting points
These databases may be relevant to researchers of ethnic and gender issues. These databases contain full-text and/or citations for a variety of journals and are good starting points:
- America History & Life
contains citations and some abstracts to journal articles, dissertations, and book and media reviews on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. It covers all historical topics and a variety of disciplines including popular culture, ethnic & gender studies, anthropology, literature and folklore, etc.
- CQ Press Electronic Library
CQ Library is an excellent resource for nonpartisan news and analysis of public affairs. It provides full-text web access to Congressional Quarterly's premiere publications:
* CQ Weekly includes legislative news and analysis since 1983
* CQ Researcher (archive back to 1923) provides original, comprehensive reporting on issues, along with tools to study how issues have changed over time
* CQ Almanac renowned for in-depth analysis of U.S. Congressional legislation
- Electronic Collections Online (ECO - from OCLC/First Search)
provides citation and full-text access to academic journals in many disciplines. Can limit search to language and literature journals via the pull-down menu.
- MLA International Bibliography
Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
Works on literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and on human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto, computer-programming languages), are listed. Works on subjects such as aesthetics, human behavior, communication, and information processes are included only if they treat human language or literature. There are no historical-period restrictions on language coverage. Works exclusively on classical Greek and Latin literatures, the Bible, or the Koran are excluded except as they relate to other literature or language topics within the scope of the bibliography. Works on the teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition at the college level are listed. Works solely on secondary school teaching are excluded unless they contain significant discussion of postsecondary teaching.
- Wilson Web
contains the full text of the articles from various biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson in current affairs, history, literature, children's literature, music, film, and art. The biographies are enhanced with recent citations from H.W. Wilson's Biography Index and with citations and abstracts from H.W. Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Book Review Digest (Current Biography does not contain the citations and abstracts from Humanities Abstracts and Book Review Digest).