Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Artists' Books: Book Arts Centers, Libraries and Orgs

Artist book organizations and centers can have multiple functions as publishers, exhibition and education programmers, centers for artist residencies and workshops, as well as holders of collections and archives. Many of the links below contain images of artists books, but if you want to get an idea of the diversity of artists' books formats all at once do a Google Image search on "artists books."

The selected list below contains meta sites and guides, small presses in Pittsburgh, book arts centers and orgs, publishers and distributors and exhibitons/projects/blogs.

Book Arts Centers, Libraries and Orgs

Meta Sites and Guides


Small Presses, Centers and Bookstores in Pittsburgh

  • Big Idea 
    "Your friendly local radical bookstore and cafe".
    New and used books, zines and more.

     
  • The Copacetic Comics Company
    Comic books, comic strip collections, graphic novels, literature, bound collections of art, poster, prints, original regional art, recordings...

  • Small Press Pittsburgh
    Gateway to small press activity in the city of Pittsburgh.
    Includes:Caketrain [a journal and press]

     
  • Encyclopedia Destructica
    Art zine collaborative founded by Chris Kardambikis and Jasdeep Khaira with an emphasis on the creative process through community dialog.

     
  • Open Thread
    Organization supporting the arts and literary scene; founded in 2009 by Adam Atkinson and Scott Anderson with the launching of the first Small Press Festival.

     
  • The New Yinzer (archive..relaunched periodically)
    ..."literary organization dedicated to enriching the literary landscape of Western Pennsylvania and beyond by exposing its residents to new and experimental forms of writing."

     
  • Spaces Corners
    Artist-run bookstore and project space.

Book Arts Centers and Organizations  (see also: Directory of Artists Books Collections)

  • The Artist Book Foundation
    Non-profit organization recognizing "the critical importance of fine art book publishing." It "creates, shares, and preserves artist books that offer the richest visual presentations and most informed narratives of artists' lives and work." Focus is on modern and contemporary artists working in North America for catalogues raisonnes, surveys and criticism.

     
  • 23 Sandy Gallery, Portland Oregon
    Representing local and national artists working in contemporary book and paper arts since 2007.

     
  • Art Metropole (Ontario, Canada)
    Not-for-profit organization orginially founded in 1974 by the artists' group General Idea. Sells, produces and exhibits artists books, multiples, video, audio, and electronic media.

     
  • AGYU Multiples Multiples Archive and ABOTM (Artist's Book of the Moment) and Artist's Book Prize
    Art Gallery of York University, Canada.

     
  • Boekie Wookie (Amsterdam)
    An artist-run bookstore and gallery. Web site contains annotated lists of new and in-stock artists books, audio visuals, prints and multiples. A few images of exhibitions and in the so-called "diary" section.

     
  • Booklyn Artists Alliance (Greenpoint, Brooklyn)
    An artist-run, non-profit organization, and project of the New York Foundation for the Arts. Mission: "to promote artist books as an art form and an educational resource, to provide the general public and educational institutions with services and programming involving contemporary artist books, and to assist artists in exhibiting, distributing and publishing artist books."

     
  • Canadian Bookbinders and Book Artists Guild
    A well-developed site including an online gallery, publications, and essays on the book arts.

     
  • The Center for Book Arts (New York, N.Y.)
    "...dedicated to preserving the traditional crafts of book-making, as well as exploring and encouraging contemporary interpretations of the book as an art object." Includes, exhibition programs, online exhibitions, artist publications, services to artists, classes by book artists, and related links.

     
  • Centre for Fine Print Research: Book Arts (CFPR).
    University of West England, Bristol: School of Art, Media and Design)
    Specializing in contemporary artists books; extensively illustrated archived exhibitions; online newsletter, book arts links.

     
  • Center for Book Arts and Paper
    a program of the Interdisciplinary Arts Department at Columbia College Chicago.

     
  • Kalamazoo Book Arts Centre
    Founded by artists and writers with a vision for a "creative public space where artists and book enthusiasts of all kinds gather to collaborate and celebrate books and the many arts that inform them: papermaking, printmaking, letterpress, creative writing, and bookbinding."

     
  • Morgan Art of Papermaking Conservatory and Educational Foundation (Cleveland, Ohio)
    "...a non-profit art center dedicated to the preservation of handmade papermaking and the art of the book. Morgan Conservatory will pursue its educational and charitable purposes by serving the greater community locally, nationally, and internationally with sustainable practices in an innovative green environment."

     
  • Purgatory Pie Press
    Collaborates with artists and teaches courses in the making of artists' books and multiples.

     
  • San Francisco Center for the Book
    It's main focus is to teach and increase awareness about traditional and contemporary book arts; hold exhibitions, events and workshops for all ages in support of book art and artists.

     
  • Visual Studies Workshop (Rochester, NY)
    Internationally recognized center for media studies, including photography, visual books, digital imaging, film and video. Produces and publishes artists' books and Afterimage: The Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism; education and exhibition programming, artists residencies, access programs, internships;
    archives and library.

     
  • women's studio workshop
    Not-for profit organization whose mission is to " operate and maintain an artists' workspace that encourages the voice and vision of women artists. We provide professional opportunities and employment for artists at various stages in their careers, and promote programs designed to stimulate public involvement, awareness and support for the visual arts. " Publishes and produces artists books; artist residencies.

Publishers and Distributors

  • Artist Book News
    A showcase and marketplace of contemporary "professional" artists' books published by book artist, Jill Timm.

     
  • Batcat Press
    Founded 2009. Publishes poetry, prose, broadsides, chapbooks, artists' books and one-of-a-kind blank book journals. The staff includes dedicated students looking to gain experience in professional publishing.

     
  • Granary Books
    Publishes and documents artists' books, poetry; deals also in literary and art libraries and archives of the sixties and seventies.

     
  • Indulgence Press (Minneapolis)
    Headed by Chip Shilling. Publishes books, broadsides and prints. Mission is to "integrate form and content through the production of high quality work, while exploring and expanding on the history of the book as an art form." Web site includes images with detailed information about work produced.

     
  • Printed Matter, Inc. (New York, NY)
    Founded in 1976; renowned and largest U.S. non-profit artists' books facility in the U.S. ; dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of artists books in inexpensive editions of 100 or greater through education, consulting and sales.

     
  • Purgatory Pie Press
    Collaborates with artists and teaches courses in the making of artists' books and multiples.

     
  • Specific Object (New York, NY)
    Closed in April 2013. Run by David Platzker in 2004 until his acceptance of the position of Curator in the Department of Prints and Illustrated Books at the Museum of Modern Art, NY. Platzker was also the former Executive Director of Printed Matter Inc. Specific Object promoted artists publications of all kinds..multiples, posters, ephemera, periodicals, audio works, and more. The Specific Object Publication of the Year Award provided winners with a cash prize. Platzker's goodbye message is archived at http://www.specificobject.com/projects/goodbye/#.UX_k_fKhw1c

    Vamp and Tramp, Booksellers, LLC (Birmingham, Alabama)
    Distributor of fine press, letterpress editions and artists' books from small and individually operated presses. Web site contains an extensive list of fine press and artists' books links.

     
  • Visual Studies Workshop
    Internationally recognized center for media studies, including photography, visual books, digital imaging, film and video. Produces and publishes artists' books and Afterimage: The Journal of Media Arts and Cultural Criticism; education and exhibition programming, artists residencies, access programs, and internships; archives and library.

     
  • women's studio workshop
    Mission is to " operate and maintain an artists' workspace that encourages the voice and vision of women artists. We provide professional opportunities and employment for artists at various stages in their careers, and promote programs designed to stimulate public involvement, awareness and support for the visual arts. "

Exhibitions, Projects, Blogs, Archives
Note that artists' books exhibitions and other projects occur continuously on a global scale. Try also Meta-Sites and Book Centers/Organizations from this page for additional information and viewing. Here are a very few exhibitions and projects highlighted.

  • DIRT? An interdisciplinary exhibition featuring natural history specimens, artist books and poemsselected from an international call for entries. August 6, 2015 to December 4, 2015. Collins Memorial Library. University of Puget Sound
     
  • Annual Edible Book Festival
    Currently hosted by the Center for Instructional Technology, Duke University Libraries.

     
  • Arcadia Id Est
    Archive of the touring artists' books exhibition from 2005-2007  on the theme of nature and the landscape.

     
  • Book as Witness: The Artists' Response
    Curated by Maria Pisano (Memory Press) at the Center for Book Arts July 11, 2012 - September 22, 2012.
    Works by "artists who create pieces dealing with death and destruction as a result of global conflicts, prejudice, terrorism, natural disasters, and individual losses."

     
  • Book Patrol: A Haven for Book Culture Blog (Michael Lieberman)
    by the co-owner of Wessel & Liberman Booksellers celebrating "...the book in all its forms. From the book as an object and cultural artifact to the current issues affecting the book world..."

     
  • Conceptually Bound
    California State University, Chico November 13 - December 16, 2007
    Based on the idea that the content of the book is in part based on the form it takes.

     
  • Fictitious Texts 1992-1996: Book Sculptures by David Laufer.
    Exhibition held at Carnegie Mellon's Hunt Library

     
  • Free For All
    An exhibition of artists' books you can download for free and assemble.

     
  • Mobilelivre Bookmobile Project
    A fluctuating group of community artists and activists dedicated to promoting "the distribution of information." The library of bookworks has travelled over the U.S. and Canada in a vintage airstream trailer.

     
  • Publishers' Bindings Online, 1815-1930: The Art of Books (PBO)
    A groundbreaking educational partnership which makes available over 5,000 digital images and information on American decorative bindings in the collections of the University of Alabama University Libraries and the University of Wisconsin Madison Libraries, reflecting the artistic, social, cultural, industrial, and bibliographic history of of the 19th and early 20th centuries. Additional resources include a comprehensive glossary, historic, literary, and artistic galleries/essays, teaching tools/lesson plans, research tools/resources.

     
  • Science and the Artist's Book
    An exhibition by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries and the Washington Project for the Arts, 1995-1996.

     
  • The Sketchbook Project
    An independent Brooklyn-based company that organizes global, collaborative art projects. "Our flagship endeavor is The Sketchbook Project, a crowd-sourced library that features 41,047 artists' books contributed by creative people from 135+ countries. Brooklyn Art Library is our storefront exhibition space in the heart of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY where The Sketchbook Project collection is on view to the public."