LibGuides: Modern Languages: 82780 Graduate Research Seminar: Research & Publishing

Starting Points

Citation and Reference Management
by Nicky Agate Last Updated Oct 4, 2023 602 views this year

Languages, Cultures, & Applied Linguistics
by Charlotte Kiger Price Last Updated Mar 27, 2024 210 views this year
Modern Languages: 82-119 (Arabic Calligraphy Culture & Skills)
by Ethan Pullman Last Updated Jan 26, 2024 246 views this year

SciWheel
by Ethan Pullman Last Updated Aug 25, 2020 23 views this year

OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
Open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions. 1933-present
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research and offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
The full panoply of American regional vocabulary represented interactively with multimedia tool that will greatly augment scholarly research in language and linguistics.
Dissertations and Theses @ Carnegie Mellon This link opens in a new window
Covers 1920-present. Full text of some dissertations may be available 1997-present. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses CMU graduate students have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be works published in 1997 forward.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods.
Text-mine (full text search) over 17 million digitized works and create customized collections. HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries. Offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and includes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Database Guide
Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Joseph Stalin's personal papers (Russian language) and translated primary sources.

For a full list of databases, see Databases A-Z. Also, be sure to check guides by subject when researching interdisciplinary topics.

Managing Research Information
This page should help you manage various aspects of research.
Measure Impact
Tools to help you measure and maximize your research impact.
Publishing & Sharing
Find options for publishing and sharing your research.
Keep up-to-date
These pages will keep you informed with the latest issues in research and publishing.
Digital Humanities Resources
This page contains resources to help you manage your digital humanities needs from our dSHARP team of experts to our text and data mining resourcesguide.

Check out Carnegie Mellon Libraries financial support for open access publishing.

Modern Languages: 82780 Graduate Research Seminar: Research & Publishing

Starting Points

Lit Review & Systematic Lit Review

NOTE: Not all reviews are suited for all research pedagogy and writing. Check out our Systematic Review Guide for guidance on selecting the correct review method.

Advanced Search in Google Scholar

Up Your Google Scholar Game

Up your search strategies

KEEP IN MIND:

Keep track of your strategies