Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Art: 60-105 Critical Theory in Art: Journals, Articles and Dissertations

Arts Article Databases

  • Art and Archtecture Source (formerly Art Source)
    Focus on art and architecture; combines article databases Art Full-Text, Art Index Retrospective and Art and Architecture Complete with increased access to full-text content. International coverage including some full-text books and images.


  • Arts:Search
    A journals-based resource for researching the history of 19th and 20th century art and design. Consists of three related and linkable databases including: Review, Arts + Architecture Profiles, Design Abstracts Retrospective.
     
  • ARTbibliographies Modern 1974- (updated irregularly)
    Citations and abstracts
    Journal articles, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, books, dissertations and essays in books or exhibition catalogs. Covers modern and contemporary art, art history, photography and design beginning with artists and movements in the late 19th century, and photography since it's invention in 1839.
    (See a librarian to access print volumes in storage: 1969-1995)


  • Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields.
     
  • Bibliography of the History of Art/Repertoire de la literature de l'art
    Citations and abstracts
    The(BHA/RILA) database contains citations and abstracts for European and American books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition catalogs and dealers' catalogs covering topics from late antiquity through the first decade of the 21st century.

     
  • Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts Full Text)
    Journal article index covering theatre, dance and film from 1864 to the present.
     
  • International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full-Text
    Scholarly resource citing journal articles and books.

     
  • More Arts and Culture Related Databases.
     
    • JSTOR and Project MUSE for scholarly academic articles across disciplines covering the arts, humanities and more.
       
    • ProQuest
      Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together for current and historical journal articles, newspapers, magazines and more.
       
    • Web of Science
      A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Link here for Databases at CMU by Subject or A-Z

Also try:
Google Scholar 
For full-text scholarly content on the open web.

History: Article and News Databases Across Discplines

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.

Dissertations and Theses @ Carnegie Mellon
ca. 1920-present.

Full text of some dissertations may be available 1997-present.
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses CMU graduate students have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be works published in 1997 forward.

Journals for Critical Studies

Afterall: A Journal of Art, Context and Enquiry
In depth analysis of contemporary art related to society, politics and philosophy.

Artforum / Artforum International
Contemporary art magazine containing essays and reviews by noted critics and artists.
Looking Critically: 21 Years of Artforum Magazine covers it long-standing history.

Art Bulletin and Art Journal
Peer reviewed articles on the visual arts. Published by the College Art Association (CAA).

ARTMargins
Scholarly articles and essays addressing global postmodern and post-colonial issues in contemporary art, media, architecture, visual culture, and critical theory. Including: art and politics in transitional countries and regions; post-socialism and neo-liberalism; the problem of global art and global art history and its methodologies.

Art Papers
Independent critical voice covering contemporary art and culture

C: International Contemporary Art (Canada)

Cabinet
Conceptual art, literature and essays.

Critical Inquiry
Interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal on critical thought in the arts and humanities.

e-flux
A publishing
/curatorial platform and archive for contemporary art, culture and theory internationally. If you subscribe to the e-mail be ready to receive  two or three messages a day announcing and describing international projects.

Frieze: Contemporary Art and Culture (London)

Kunstforum International
In German. In depth articles on contemporary art

Leonardo and Leonardo Music Journal

Leading peer reviewed journals on the use of contemporary science and technology in the arts and music.
Published by the Society for the Arts Sciences and Technology (ISAST)


Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin
Articles on acquisitions and collections of the MMA

Modern Language Quarterly

Literary change and historicism in relation to feminism, ethnic studes, cultural materialism, discourse analysis and other forms of representation and cultural critique.

New Formations
Journal of culture and theory

N. Paradoxa

Feminist art criticism

Parkett
International contemporary art explored by writers and critics.

October
Art theory and criticism focused on contemporary arts

Review of Metaphysics
Contemporary philosophy and its currents

Paragraph: The Journal of the Modern Critical Theory Group
Leading journal in modern critical theory

Postmodern Culture PMC

One of the earliest and groundbreaking journals on the web on interdisciplinary thought on contemporary culture

Representations
Critical theory and post-structuralism; art

Screen : the journal of the Society for Education in Film and Television
Film Criticism

The Structurist
International art journal founded in 1960 to address the concept of structure, science, technology and nature.
Publication ceased in 2010.

Sub-stance

Theory of philosophy, the social science, science, and the arts

Third Text
"Third world perspectives on contemporary art and culture"


Wide angle
Quarterly journal of film history, theory, criticism, and practice

 



eserver.org

A digital humanities venture based publishing the work of writers, editors and scholars.
Maintained by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University.

 


Sandback, Amy Baker. Looking Critically: 21 Years of Artforum Magazine. Ann Arbor, Mich.: UMI Research Press, 1984.

 

 

Questions?

Mo Dawley
Art and Drama Librarian

Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Art Research Guide
Drama Research Guide

Environment: A Multidisciplinary Research Guide
Send Email