Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Art: 60-206 Contemporary Visual Culture 1960-present: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Timelines

Resources supporting the course

Art


Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present. 3rd edition. New York: Abbeville Press Publishers, 2013.
HUNT FA-REF N6490 .A87 1997
 

Atkins, Robert. Artspoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. New York: Abbeville, 1993.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6447 .A85 1993 
 
 

Patin, Thomas, and Jennifer McLerran. Artwords: A Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
FA-REF-4 N71 .P32 1997    
This is very good introduction to art theory terminology and has an excellent table of contents by main theory topics you can use to search databases on more specific topics
 
 
 

 


A gateway to these scholarly reference works:
Grove Dictionary Online
Benezit Dictionary of Artists
(historic)

 


Art and Architecture

Cross-disciplinary


Chapman, Roger, ed. Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2010.
E-BOOK

 

Cover Image
Kelly, Michael, ed. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
E-BOOK
Print edition
HUNT FA-REF-4 BH56 .E53 1998 Volumes 1-4 

 


Lucy, Niall,, et al. A Dictionary of Postmodernism.Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Malden, Massachusetts: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016.
E-BOOK
 

Mitchell, W. J. T. et.al. Critical Terms for Media Studies. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
HUNT STACKS-2 PN56 .T37 C5 2010

 


Payne, Michael, Jessica Rae Barbera,  A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory. 2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
E-BOOK

 

Cover Image
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
E-BOOK
Each artilce is authored by an authority in the field.  Search by topics, field of study, time periods, regions and religions.

 


Each article is authored by  and authority in the field. Includes peer-reviewed publications. Maintained by Stanford University.

OPEN-ACCESS WEB


Credo Reference 
E-BOOK gateway to reference works across disciplines. Search across all databases or choose singular works by subject.
Examples of content:

Aesthetics A-Z
Concise Atlas of World History
Critical Terms for Art History

Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms

A Glossary of Political Theory

Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present

The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies

World Politics since 1945


Oxford Reference 
E-BOOK gateway through Oxford University Press containing dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference works across disciplines  including art and architecture, archaeology, classical studies, history, language, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine and health, music, names studies, performing arts, philosophy, religion, science and technology, social sciences and society and culture.


Examples:

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy

Dictionary of Contemporary World History




Routledge Key Guides

Key Writers on Art
Fifty Key Texts in Art History
Fifty Key Writers on Photography
Art History: The Key Concepts
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
and more across the social sciences, philosophy and humanities

Timelines


Bailey, Gauvin A. Art in Time: A World History of Styles and Movements. London: Phaidon Press, 2014.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N5303 .A755 2014



HeilbrunnTimeline of Art History
Online open-access. Chronological, geographical, and thematic concentrating on the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art pre-history to the present.

 

Great Events from History II: Arts and Culture Series
HUNT FA-REF-4 NX456 .G723 5 volumes

Oxford Art Online: Timelines of World Art (Grove Art)

Wilkins, David G., Katheryn M Linduff. Art Past, Art Present. 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson/Prentice Hall, 2009.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N5300 .W64 2005

 

MORE...


Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present. 3rd edition. New York: Abbeville Press Publishers, 2013.
HUNT FA-REF N6490 .A87 1997
Timelines at the front of the book.

Atkins, Robert. Artspoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. New York: Abbeville, 1993.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6447 .A85 1993
Timelines at the front of the book.

The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2002.
HUNT FA-REF NX456 .N49 2002 (4 volumes)
 
Roslin, Mair. Key Dates in Art History from 600 B.C. to the Present. Oxford:Phaidon; New York: Dutton, 1979.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N5300 .M26 1979
 

Ochoa, George.Timeline Book of the Arts. New York: Ballantine, 1995.
HUNT FA-REF-4 NX447.5 .O28 1995

Brownstone, David and Franck, Timelines of the Arts and Literature. New York: Harper Collins Pub., 1994.
HUNT FA-REF NX447.5 .B76 1994

Bocola, Sandro. Timelines: The Art of Modernism, 1870-2000. Köln : New York: Taschen, 2001.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6465 .M63 B6 2001.

Grun, Bernard; Stein, The Timetables of History : a Horizontal Linkage of People and Events
HUNT FA-REF-4 D11 .G78 1991

Paxton, John. Calendar of Creative Man. New York: Facts on File, 1980.
HUNT FA-REF-4 NX447.5 .P38

Visual Arts in the 20th Century. New York: Abrams, 1997.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6490 .L792 1997
 

Empire Online
Click on the Chronology tab
This database covers many types of research resources regarding the rise and fall of Empires from Columbus to the 2nd half of the 20th century.

Questions?


Related research guide
Art: Critical Studies
Art: Contemporary Artists 


If CMU Libraries don't have what you need:
Ask me
Interlibrary Loan