Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Art: 60-206 Contemporary Visual Culture 1960-present: Primary Sources

Resources supporting the course

Primary Sources in Anthologies

Cover Image  Cover Image Cover Image  Cover Image
Art in Theory: An Anthology of Changing Ideas
Writings by artists and theorists from 1648 to 2000
HUNT FA-REF N6350 .A78
1648-1815; 1815-1900; 1900-1990; 1900-2000

 

Caws, Mary Ann ed. Manifesto: A Century of Isms.  Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2001.
HUNT STACKS-2 CB427 .M287 2001
Artistic and cultural manifestos.



Gablik, Suzi.
Conversations Before the End of Time New York ; London: Thames and Hudson, 1995. . New York ; London: Thames and Hudson, 1995.
HUNT STACKS-4 N72 .S6 G23 1995
Suzi Gablik interviews artists.

 


Manghani, Sunil. Images: Critical and Primary Sources. London: Bloomsbury, 2013.
HUNT STACKS-4 NX60 .I43 2013 4 volumes

Seminal  writings on the image divided into sections: Understanding Images: Defining Images. Image Philosophy:Text and Image, Image as Thought.  Image Theory: Art Theory; Beyond Psychoanalysis; Phenomenology;  Between Mediums; Image Cultures: Visual Culture; Image and Memory, Visual Evidence; Science Imaging.

 

Rainey, Lawrence S. Modernism: An Anthology of Sources and Documents. . Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 1998.
E-BOOK

 

Cover Image
Robinson, Hilary, ed. Feminism-art-theory: An Anthology 1968-2014. 2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex: Wiley Blackwell, 2015.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 N72 .F45 F442 2015


Stiles, Kristine and  Peter Selz, eds.Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: A Sourcebook of Artists' Writings.
Berkeley, Calif: University of California Press, 2012.
HUNT-FA-REF 4 N6490 .T492 2012.

 


Want, Christopher, ed. Philosophers On Art From Kant to the Postmodernists: A Critical Reader. .  New York: Columbia University Press, 2010
HUNT STACKS-2 BH39 .P47175 2010

more ...

Alberro, Alexander and Blake Stimson. Conceptual Art: A Critical Anthology. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press.
Key historical writings that helped define conceptual art by artists, critics and others.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6494 .C63 C597 1999

Bee, Susan., and Mira Schor, eds. M/E/A/N/I/N/G: An Anthology of Artists' Writings, Theory and Criticism.  . Durham [N.C.]: Duke University Press, 2000.
HUNT-STACKS-4 N6512 .M378 2000
Collection of writings from the feminist art journal.

Gale, Peggy, ed. Artists Talk : 1969-1977. Halifax, N.S.: Press of the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design
HUNT STACKS-4 N6490 .A7725 2004
Transcriptions from presentations made at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design between 1969 and 1977. 

Matt, Gerald A. ed. Artists Talk. Nürnberg : Verlag für oderne Kunst.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6350 .A782 2014
Artist interviews focusing on art and society.

 

http://www.andrew.cmu.edu/user/md2z/art/pressplay.jpg
PressPLAY: Contemporary Artists in Conversation
. New York, NY: Phaidon, 2005
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6490 .P74 2005

Richards, Judith Olch.  Inside the Studio: Two Decades of Talks with Artists in New York.
New York : Independent Curators International
HUNT STACKS-4 
N6490 .I467 2004

Artists' Writings

For more artists' writings search Cameo, WorldCat and other databases. Or see some links to artist's writings in Theorists/Writings section of the Art:Critical Studies library guide.

Cameo or WorldCat Search Hint: Try using the keyword interview (or interviews) with an artist's name which may reveal more primary materials on that artist, e.g.:  smithson interviews.



Duchamp, Marcel. (Michel Sanouillet, and Elmer Peterson eds.). Salt Seller: The Writings of Marcel Duchamp.. New York: Oxford University Press, 1973
HUNT STACKS-4 N6853 .D8 A57 or N6853 .D8 A2 1989 (reprint by De Capo Press).

 


Richter, Hans. Dada: Art and Anti-art. New York, New York : London: Thames & Hudson Inc., 2016.

HUNT STACKS-4 N6494 .D3 R5213 2016
This is the centenary edition. It was originally published in 1965 by Harry H. Abrams

 


Smithson, Robert. Robert Smithson: The Collected Writings. Jack D. Flam, ed. Berkeley: University of California Press 1996

HUNT STACKS-4  N7445.2 .S62 A35 1996

 

Artist's publications



Carnegie Mellon University Libraries Artists' Books Collection.

Website about the collection with links to artist book resources and other collections.The artists' books collection is available to individuals, groups and classes by appointment. See also "Spotlight: Teaching With Artists' Books" in Boundless.

 


Gwen Allen. Artists' Magazines: An Alternative Space for Art. Cambridge: MIT Press, 2011.

HUNT STACKS-4 N6480 .A58 2011

Covers
the history of the heyday of artist magazines produced in the 1970s as alternative artist spaces. Includes an illustrated index of hundreds of magazines.