Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Art: 60-206 Contemporary Visual Culture 1960-present: Search Images and Media

Resources supporting the course

Arts: Images


Carnegie Mellon Libraries Visual Resources Collection

High resolution subscription image databases plus carefully selected open-access image resources on the web.

Including these and more...

  • ARTstor
    Over one million high-quality images of objects in arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences collections.

     
  • AP Images (Associated Press)
    Regional, state, national and international news photographs with some historical images.

     
  • Bridgeman Education
    Over 300,000 images of visual culture across civilizations, continents and periods.

     
  • CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
    Works of art from around the world.


  • Image Collection, CMU Libraries
    A growing collection of high-quality digital images selected by and for Carnegie Mellon users with a focus on art and architecture

 

Oxford African American Studies Center: Images and Multimedia



For more image and media databases go to Databases for Art or CMU Databases A-Z and click on the All Database Types tab.

 

Video Film Audio

CMU Libraries Streaming Sound and Video Collections
including


Kanopy Streaming Service
Remote access to over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects includiing the arts.

Film and Video Collection (Hunt, Third Floor)
CMU Libraries physical video and DVD collection

Dance in Video
Productions and documentaries  with influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, and forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance; search, browse, cite or bookmark videos to the moment; make custom clips, annotate and share them.

Medici TV
Music concerts, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes. Also performances and documentaries touching on the visual arts, for example, productions with renowned performance artist Robert Wilson.

Theatre in Video
Definitive performances and documentaries with leading actors, playwrights and directors covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Includes contemporary revivals of classic works, television broadcasts of New York productions, experimental performances and more; search, browse and bookmark scenes, monologues, and staging examples to a link that can be shared.

Ontheboards.tv
High-quality films of full-length performances by 21st century provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.

 

CMU Libraries Audio Collection (Hunt Library 4th Floor)
Includes CDs (as well as tapes and LPs) in diverse styles, eras and genres,  operas, operettas and musicals, motion picture sound tracks; copyright free music (Studio Cutz), sound effects and selected arts DVDs.

 

For more image and media databases go to Databases for Art or CMU Databases A-Z and click on the All Database Types tab.


Questions?

Related research guide
Art: Critical Studies

 


If CMU Libraries don't have the materials you need:
Ask me
Interlibrary Loan