Cameo (Carnegie Mellon University Libraries catalog)
Find all materials held at the CMU Libraries including citations and/or full-text links to e-books, journal articles, or streaming audio and video media.
It's highly recommended that you use Cameo in conjunction with...
WorldCat a database of library holdings all over the U.S. and internationally including Carnegie Mellon and local Pittsburgh libraries. Subject descriptions and contents are typically more detailed and may not be searchable in Cameo.
Google Books and Google Scholar
Use these in conjunction with Cameo and WorldCat to elicit more results for the full text of books and articles. Google Books may not always contain the full content of books in its collection, but sometimes there is substantial textual excerpts.
If CMU Libraries don't have what you need:
Interlibrary Loan
Hunt Library: Arts Guide: Library of Congress Classification
Library of Congress Classification
A -- GENERAL WORKS
B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION
C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.
E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS
F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS
G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION
H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES
J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE
K -- LAW
L -- EDUCATION
M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC
N -- FINE ARTS
P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
Q -- SCIENCE
R -- MEDICINE
S -- AGRICULTURE
T -- TECHNOLOGY
U -- MILITARY SCIENCE
V -- NAVAL SCIENCE
Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)
Exact searches:
Person's name: Guy Debord or "Guy Debord".
Title: "Society of the Spectacle"
Combo: Debord Spectacle
Keyword searches
A few simple searches are better than many keywords at once in library catalogs (as compared searching the open web)
e.g. appropriation photography; "appropriation art"; remix art; duchamp readymade
Look for author and topic hotlinks and descriptive text in items that you find in Cameo and WorldCat that may lead you to other pertinent materials.
The keywords below were generated from vocabulary derived from Cameo and WorldCat searches related to the visual culture landscape as a sample of how to begin thinking about how to strategize a search in a database. Consider creating your own table of keywords depending on your topics of interest as you use Cameo, WorldCat and other databases.
|
Broad disciplines Theory Geography/Culture Venue Time period
|
Media/Genre ----------------------- |
Topics |
An example of keyword generation inspired by brainstorming, searching databases and the open access web to help develop search vocabulary and articulation of a work of art.
Explore diverse resources to make the strongest case for the work of art you will be discussing in your final paper including monographs, exhibition catalogs, biography, autobiography, articles and reviews in journals magazine and newspapers, dissertations, encyclopedias, surveys, timelines, audio and visual resources, organizations (e.g. archives, foundations, public collections) and special collections.
Image sources: ARTstor
Who Faith Wilding; “Faith Wilding” (1943- ) What (Title of work) Waiting When 1973; other? Where Womanhouse; other? How
performance; video
|
Broad disciplines Geography/Culture Venue Related Venues Time period
|
Media/Genre Topics |
Web Archives Archives of American Art Womanspace gallery records 1970-74 Pacifica Radio Archives Survey
|