This is the "Start" page of the "Companies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Companies  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.cmu.edu/companies Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

This Guide

will show you ways to research companies for coursework, investing, job searches, etc.

News Sources

 Articles in newspapers, magazines, and trade journals are rich in data, up-to-the-minute. 

  • ProQuest
    wide-ranging news and research article database containing many smaller databases within it - best source for complete Wall Street Journal and New York Times.
  • Business Source Premier
    academic and trade journals and magazines in all business disciplines; also industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports. Includes the Harvard Business Review.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    the most wide-ranging international, national and local news and trade publications, plus biographical background on individuals and legal cases.
  • Bizjournals
    sometimes the best information is local: free database of business articles for major US cities, including Pittsburgh.
 

A book on your company!

Be deeply informed and read something substantial.  Our catalog will lead you to books on major companies.  Examples:

Company Basics

  • Hoover's
    has quick summaries, key financial figures and lists of products and competitors in one easy-to-locate source.
  • Thomson ONE
    (Public companies only) - open Company Views on the left for extensive company data, deals, financials, news, analyst reports. NOTE: must use Internet Explorer browser.
  • Datamonitor (formerly MarketLine)
    has detailed reports on public and private companies, internationally, including background, analysis and forecasts, and featuring SWOT analyses.
  • LexisNexis Academic's Company Dossier
    will get you many kinds of company data from various sources: quick snapshots, corporate hierarchy, financials, legal cases, executives, company structure, etc. Each section can be expanded for more information.

Company Directories

Get addresses, executives, sales, # of employees. Also lists of companies with similar characteristics: geography, revenue, etc.

  • Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database
    contains 23 million companies worldwide. Create and download lists with specific criteria. Use the "Advanced Search" and then the SIC or NAICS Code sections to limit to specific industries.
  • CareerSearch
    get this through COC website – you can also get specified lists of companies here (create your account first.)
  • Hoover's
    find a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” on left hand side; has selected international companies. You can also "build lists" of companies by using that feature.
  • LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
    best for seeing corporate hierarchies and linkages - can create lists of US firms with operations in another country; also foreign firms operating in the US (use Advanced Search)
  • Thomas Register
    for many years the standard American directory of manufacturers, encompassing all types of manufacturing companies and products.
  • Private Equity/VentureXpert
    PE and VC firms and the companies they fund. (You'll need to use Internet Explorer, and also click on "Screening & Analysis" in the left column to get this component of the Thomson database.)
  • Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
    describes more than 27,000 consulting firms and consultants, in business, industry, and government, indexed by firm name, consulting activity, and geographic location. Also in book form on Hunt Reference shelves: HD69 .C6 C647.
  • Barclay Hedge database
    A.pdf directory with data, analysis, and contacts for over 3000 hedge funds. Also includes ranking tables grouped by hedge fund strategy.

Historical data on companies

  • International Directory of Company Histories
    Extensive written histories of thousands of major companies worldwide
  • Mergent Webreports
    provides the searchable scanned copies of pages from Moody's (and later Mergent) Corporate Manuals, from 1909 to the present. Content also in: Moody's Manuals - financial and securities data for US and international public companies, from 1914, Hunt reference collection microfiche.
  • ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
    pdf's of annual reports of 800 US companies, with coverage ranging from 1844 to the present.
  • ValueLine Investment Survey
    historical stock reports back to 1997
  • Compustat database via WRDS
    extensive financial data for public companies from 1950 to the present.
  • LexisNexis Academic Corporate Filings
    on left - select Companies>SEC filings, full-text of EDGAR filings from 1991 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1987.
  • Thomson Research (formerly Investext)
    starting in 1982, analyst research reports from top investment banks, brokerage firms, and trade associations. Use Company Views on left, and then click on Research. (Use Internet Explorer.)

Company Analysis

  • Thomson Research (formerly Investext)
    provides analyst research reports from top banks and brokerage firms. Use Company Views on left, and then click on Research. (Use Internet Explorer.)
  • Standard & Poor's Netadvantage
    offers extensive and reliable financial data and analysis. Especially see the "stock reports."
  • Passport GMID  
      
    Consumer products companies only - has background, competitive analysis, market share, product listings, statistics. The "global company profile" has the most extensive report.
  • Value Line Investment Survey
    stock reports with financial performance data, analysis, projections, rankings, beta, key ratios for 3500+ public companies.
  • Alacra Pulse
    key events and commentary from both traditional analysts and alternative media/blog sources.

Company Financials

  • SEC database
    all US public companies and some foreign ones must file their financial reports here; this is the most direct source.
  • Mergent
    financial data and segments thereof (last 15 years) can be displayed and downloaded conveniently. Covers international companies. Also SEC filings (use EDGAR tab) and print annual reports for last 10 years (use Annual Reports tab) from company profile.
  • Standard & Poor's Netadvantage
    from your Company Profile, click on Financials, Stock Report, or for most complete data, Compustat Excel Analytics.
  • Company Website
    look for the "investor relations" section.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip