This is the "Start" page of the "Datasets" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Datasets  

Last Updated: Jan 16, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.cmu.edu/datasets Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

This Guide

lists sources for datasets comprising long time periods, to use in your research or coursework

 

Tepper Computing Datasets

Data collections

Databases to use

  • International Financial Statistics and other IMF databases
    data on international finance, including balance of payments, liquidity, money and banking, exchange rates, interest rates, prices, production, transactions, national accounts, government finance, trade, and population.
  • OECD iLibrary
    data for many countries on: economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, and more.
  • World Bank DataBank
    5 huge databases from the World Bank with financial and demographic information on all countries. Create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and save, embed, and share them. Best to watch the tutorial first.
  • Statista
    highly findable and usable stats on markets, industries, companies, and demographics - also data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international
  • Mergent Online Economics
    over 1000 economics datasets covering retail, housing, trade, commodities, banking, energy, industry and other indicators
  • Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
    Thousands of interdisciplinary datasets with customizable mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference also available for basic retrieval.
  • WRDS
    a uniform web interface to current and historical datasets in finance, marketing, economics and banking, from multiple sources. Some of those are: Standard & Poor’s Compustat, ComScore, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) Mergent, Dow Jones, the Federal Reserve, and the Chicago Board of Options Exchange.
  • Social Explorer
    visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.

Databases to use

  • Statista
    highly findable and usable stats on markets, industries, companies, and demographics - also data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international
  • World Bank DataBank
    5 huge databases from the World Bank with financial and demographic information on all countries. Create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and save, embed, and share them. Best to watch the tutorial first.
  • Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
    Thousands of interdisciplinary datasets with customizable mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference also available for basic retrieval.
  • International Financial Statistics and other IMF databases
    data on international finance, including balance of payments, liquidity, money and banking, exchange rates, interest rates, prices, production, transactions, national accounts, government finance, trade, and population.
  • OECD iLibrary
    data for many countries on: economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, and more.
  • Global Population Dynamics Database
    largest collection of animal and plant population data in the world.
  • Mergent Online Economics
    over 1000 economics datasets covering retail, housing, trade, commodities, banking, energy, industry and other indicators
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip