Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Countries: Start

Looking for?

Outlook, risk, market analysis, growth, banking & finance, etc. -
select "Browse by Location" for country breakdown.  Sort by most recent date to get the most current at the top.

Economic Indicators from the International Economic Statistics database at the St. Louis Fed.

Business-oriented country research report, use database: MarketLine Advantage (formerly Datamonitor) - click on "Geographies" and then "Countries" for the Country Analysis Reports.

Overall information and demographics - use database:  Europa World - select a country in the upper right search box.  All the categories on the left side open up into many more - the directories, also.

Basic statistics - quick reports from Encyclopedia Brittanica or CIA World Factbook.

Overviews, news, forecasts, facts, reports and more links – use portal: Global Edge – country briefings.

Technology industry prospects and issues in various countries – use database: Gartner Core Research – use Advanced Search, so you can limit accordingly. (Some of the reports in this database, such as Dataquest, are only available as summaries in our subscription.)  Also, technology market reports for any country are in Frost & Sullivan - enter country name in search box.

Detailed demographic and economic data, use database: World dataBank  - you will first choose your country, then your “series” (which is a large set of variables; expand the categories to see them all) , and then your time frame, to get both a chart that you can download, and a map.

A list of top companies in any country - use database: Hoovers.  When you're on the database, click on "Build a List" on the right side, then expand Company Location and click on your country and then "View Results."  You can then sort the resulting list by sales or number of employees by clicking on the little arrows at the top right of those columns.  When you click on the company names, you'll get more information.

Market opportunities - the US State Department issues Country Commercial Guides with market overviews, export and investment opportunities, financing, travel, and political environment for almost 200 countries.  Market research, trade events and leads, and industry outlooks are also available here.

Articles in business newspapers and journals in specific countries, use database: LexisNexis Academic - click on“Sources” in the "Search the News" section, and then click on "More Options" to select country or language.

Economic data, such as exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, production, trade, government accounts, and national accounts, use database: International Financial Statistics and other IMF Databases

Reports and data on development issues, use website: World Bank – and use the “Countries” tab at the top to select the country. After that, all the items at the left, including “Data & Statistics” will be specific to that country.

Financial soundness indicators - IMF database that gives indicators of the health of entire sectors of financial institutions, but also of the counterpart corporate and household sectors, and of relevant markets.

Cultural etiquette, the Culture Crossing site provides specific information on how to comport oneself in 200 countries. Also recommended is Culturegrams: concise reports on customs, lifestyles, courtesies, and social background for each country - located in the Hunt Reference room, GT150 .C85 2009.

Links to the primary statistical agencies of the countries themselves, use this list.

Links to their Central Banks (each issuing data, publications, reports, etc.) use this list.

Travel information

  • Use website: State Department International Travel site for information on passports, visas, advisories, health information, tips, etc.
  • Use database: General OneFile for complete text of Fodor’s Guides on hundreds of cities worldwide. Using the Advanced Search, enter “fodor’s” in the “publication title” box, and the city or country name in the box at the top.

Starting a business? Use website: Doing Business In: Series from the World Bank. For each country and region, it covers regulatory environment, ease of doing business, procedural issues, economic indicators, and other issues of interest to businesses looking to locate internationally

This Guide

   

will direct you to the best sources for country data and analysis for various uses.