Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Environment: A Multidisciplinary Research Guide: Home

This guide...

Environmental resources across discpliines. For more information: contact your departmental liasion librarian about more environmental resources and research options in your areas of study.


webmaster: md2z@andrew.cmu.edu


Ecology and History Timeline


Magill, Frank N., ed.
Great Events From History II: Ecology and the Environment Series, Salem Press, Pasadena CA; Englewood Cliffs, NJ, 1994
A 5-volume timeline covering environmental events in detail from 1905-1994.
HUNT STACKS-2 GE150.G72 1995

Featured Databases

For more databases go to the Databases tab in this guide or search CMU Libraries Databases A-Z.
 

Politico is an American political-journalism company based in Arlington County, Virginia, that covers politics and policy in the United States. Covers Energy and Health as well as Agriculture, Budget & Appropriations Brief, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, Europe Brief, Financial Services, Labor & Employment, Tax, Technology, Trade, Transportation, Transition 2017 and DataPoint.



An excellent way to gain a broad understanding and/or in-depth coverage of social, political and environmental topics covered in the news.   Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Includes full-length articles with overviews, historical background, chronologies, pro/con featuares and more.

 


GlobalData Power (formerly Alternative Energy eTrack)
Covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes news, deals, analysis, forecasts, and more.

 


Environment & Energy Publishing
Coverage of environmental, energy and climate policy with five daily online publications.

 


A highly regarded market research database providing extensive industry reports which include environmentally related industrie. Includes forecasts, statistical and analytical information on the markets, applications, industry structure, major players, market shares, industry dynamics, technology and international developments.   Other databases with comparable quality that might be used in conjunction with BCC include Gartner, Frost and Sullivan, and IBISWorld.

 

OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development providing access to journals articles, working papers, multi-lingual summaries, e-book titles, book chapters, databases and  thousands of tables and graphs. Explore all of its aspects or limit to theme such as OECD ILibrary: Environment.  As of 2015 also inlcudes
IEA: International Energy Agency  databases with extensive historical and current/statistical data on emissions from fuel combustion, coal, electricity, energy prices, energy technology, natural gas, oil, renewables, world energy statistics and balances.

·  

Featured Journals

For more journal literature, search CMU Libraries Databases A-Z If you know the title of the journal, go to Journal Search.



Into the Woods,  a special issue of Harvard Design Magazine ( 45, Spring/Summer 2018) "...treks into the woods to come to terms with its precarious status as habitat and resource, and to challenge assumptions about wood as material. We won’t be “out of the woods”—this looping conundrum—any time soon, even if the woods as we once knew it, and might still imagine it, has ceased to exist. At the intersection of wilderness, urbanization, and myth, “Into the Woods” embraces contradiction, challenges destruction, and revisits our roots, biological and architectural alike.'


Environment & Behavior
Examines relationships between human behavior and the natural and built
environment

Nature: International Weekly Journal of Science, 1869-present

Nature Climate Change

A monthly journal publishing original research on the science of climate change and its impacts and wider implications for the economy, society and policy.

Global Environmental Change: Human and Policy Dimensions
Interdisciplinary journal spanning the social and natural sciences

Global Environmental Change: Environmental Hazards

Global Environmental Politics
Analysis of political issues impacting environmental management from the local to global levels. 


Open Access
International Journal of Engineering, Social Justice and Peace
A peer-reviewed journal on the theory and practice of engineering equity, non-oppressive and non-violent approaches.


Books, e-Books

For more books link to Cameo: CMU Library catalog.



Baer, H. (2018). Democratic eco-socialism as a real utopia : transitioning into an alternative world system . New York: Berghahn.
HUNT STACKS-2 (Stacks 2nd Floor) HX73 .B3235 2018
 


Bhattacharya, J., Das, B., & Dev, S. (2018). Low cost wastewater bioremediation technology : innovative treatment of sulfate and metal-rich wastewater . Kidlington, Oxford, United Kingdom: Butterworth-Heinemann.


Shevock, D. (2018). Eco-literate music pedagogy . New York, NY: Routledge.
HUNT STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) ML3799.3 .S54 2018

 


Dutch, Steven, ed. Encyclopedia of Climate Change. Ipswich, Massachusetts : Salem Press, a division of EBSCO Information Services, Inc. ; Amenia, NY : Grey House Publishing, 2016. 2nd edition
E-book



Open Access Books on JSTOR  
The content in this collection  covers important issues in the fields of security, health, education, sustainability, and more.

Kanopy


For more films across disciplines including health and the environment, link to..

a streaming film subscription available to the CMU community


 


The Green Interview (series)
More than 70 streaming interviews with thinkers, artists and activists "whose ideas and work are leading the way to a new era of sustainability."

 

 


Symphony of the Soil
Scientists, farmers and ranchers discuss how we can bring back the world's depleted soil back to life from misuse by agriculture, deforestation and development in this beautifully filmed and artistic documentary.
 


Life Off Grid: A Film About Disconnecting
A two-year exploration into the lives of Canadians in every province and territory who have chosen to build their lives around renewable energy. The film addresses a myriad of personal and social issues as well as processes and creativity surrounding "sustainable" architecture, design and engineering

Local News and initiatives


For additional local links go to the Pittsburgh Environment tab in this guide



2019 University of Pittsburgh Humanities Center Environmental Colloquium


January 16, 2019 - 4:30pm
“‘Gaia Likes It Cold’: Tanya Tagaq Sounds Inuit Sovereignty in Canada’s North
the Pitt Humanities Center 602  Cathedral  of  Learning

February 13, 2019 - 4:30pm

“Ecology Between Scales"
Carnegie Mellon

March 20, 2019 - 4:30pm
“Natural Gas Drilling in Pennsylvania before the Marcellus Shale Boom
the Pitt Humanities Center 602  Cathedral  of  Learning


 

2018 Shale and Public Health Conference 11/14 (Wed) 8:30AM-5PM 
The sixth annual Shale and Public Health conference is presented by the League of Women Voters of Pennsylvania and hosted by the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health. Each year, the conference features presentations on the latest research regarding shale drilling and public health by academics and government researchers from the Pittsburgh area and across the country. 

 


Three Rivers Urban Soil Symposium, October 4-5  Phipps Conservatory

Read a related article in the New York Times by Moises Valasques-Manoff
"Can Dirt Save the Earth?" 

 


The 2018 AASHE Conference & Expo being held in Pittsburgh in  October will examine the critical role of higher education in achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Adopted by the world's governments in September 2015, the 17 SDGs establish ambitious global targets to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all by 2030.

 

Online documentation of the conference, One Health One Planet: Health Impacts: Chemicals of Concern in the Environment  (March 7-8 2018) is now available through the Phipps Conservatory website.  In this resource, contributors present video, audio, written summaries and more to take you inside this important gathering. Watch the overview video.


The EcoInnovation District Project is getting underway in Pittsburgh and is calling for participation.
Here's a link to the Final Plan



publicsource.org
Non-profit independent investigative news source in the public interest of the Pittsburgh region including health and the environment.

Bioneers 2018 National Conference

Featured international initiatives

 


SCIMAP - Diffuse Pollution Risk Mapping
A framework for modelling and mapping diffuse pollution risk across landscapes developed at Durham University. This site provides a basic description of the science base being developed, illustrating the SCIMAP approach and how it works, plus material for further learning about the approac h. You can download the SCIMAP software for Windows or use the web based my.scimap tool.




The WaterHub is an on-site water recycling system on the Emory University campus which utilizes eco-engineering processes to clean waste water for future non-potable uses.  It is the first system of its kind to be installed in the United States. Emory’s WaterHub is capable of recycling up to 400,000 gallons-per-day –nearly 40% of Emory’s total campus water needs.

GRIST environmental news