Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: C is for Cookies

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

Reference Sources

Finding Books

If you are looking for books that are owned by Carnegie Mellon University, use our library catalog, CAMEO.  It is the library catalog and is the best way to find books, microfilm, videos, and other materials owned by the library.  It is not where you will find journal articles.


Here are some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searchedThe default CAMEO search is a keyword search; to build a more specific search, use the advanced search option.  If you want tips for how to build searches, see the CAMEO Help with Search Operators page.  These tips work in other library catalogs as well.

-- Select "Match All", "Match Any", or "Match No") Terms to combine the search terms and try various search fields.

Here are some examples:

  • Food (as a Subject) AND Politics (as a Subject)
  • Food (as a Subject) AND Environment (as a Subject)
  • Food (as a Subject) AND (image as Words or Phrase)
  • Food (as a Subject) AND (consumption as Words or Phrase)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in a catalog, usually listed as "Subjects".

This is an example of a record:

Sample CAMEO record

NOTE:  Some times a record would have only one subject heading, but if you click on the subject heading, you will be able to browse other books that will lead to more subject headings.

Important: Once you find a book you think you would like, note the location and the call number.  You will need both of these pieces of information to locate the book.


Still can't find what you need?

If you are looking for a book that we do not own, try the following:

  1. Check the University of Pittsburgh's Catalog PITTCat+: you are able to borrow books by getting a borrowing card (you'll need a valid CMU ID card). 
  2. Check E-Z Borrowgives you access to books from libraries in Pennsylvania.  You'll need your Andrew ID number, which is the second set of numbers on the bottom of your CMU ID card.
  3. Check Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library).  You can get a library card for free.  You'll need a proof of your current address.

You can also check other local library catlogs (see list).


Finding Articles

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  See the Relevant Guides box on the right.

One possible approach is to search specialized journals.  You can do this online by going to e-Journals A-Z and looking for a journal by title, then searching within the journal.  If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can enter a broad word like "food", or relevant terms to generate a list of titles with these words.

To search inside the journal, click on the link below.  Follow the link to the vendor that provides our access.  The journal will open.  You can then search just that journal.  In some cases, you may need to select the option to "search this [or within] publication." Here are some suggested titles:

-- Food & Fitness Advisor - CMU has online access to issues from 2006-2011.
 
-- Food & Function - CMU has online access to issues from 2010-present.
 
-- Food and Nightlife - CMU has online access to issues from 2010-presentt.

In general, the following databases are good starting places for relevant information on gender, media and representation:

For articles/secondary materials:

Academic OneFile: Recent coverage (1990s to present) of almost any topic.  Can limit to "peer reviewed (or scholarly) sources.

JSTOR - Historical coverage of almost any topic.

Roper Center for Public Opinion - A great source for data from surveys.

CQ Researcher - Source providing research reports on a variety of reports related to food, consumption, obesity, and much more(1923 to present).


(note:  If you cannot locate the journals in our libraries or databases (e-journals), you can always get them via Interlibrary Loan; also if you are off-campus or using a wireless connection, you need  to make sure you are authenticated via AnyConnect (see Off-Campus/Wireless Access).

Relevant Guides

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  Here are relevant guides for this course:

English Guide - Check here for general databases, but also if you are looking for historical coverage.

Environment - This guide provides information regarding the environment spanning various disciplines.

Public Policy and Information Systems - Here you'll find relevant information such as good places to find information on environmental or public policies.

Ethnic & Gender Studies - Check here for further information about ethnic or gender topics.