Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: Devout and Fallen

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

Finding Books

If you are looking for books that are owned by Carnegie Mellon University, use our library catalog, CAMEO.  It is the library catalog and is the best way to find books, microfilm, videos, and other materials owned by the library.  It is not where you will find journal articles.


Here are some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searched.  The default CAMEO search is a keyword search; to build a more specific search, use the advanced search option.  If you want tips for how to build searches, see the CAMEO Help with Search Operators page.  These tips work in other library catalogs as well.

-- Select "Match All", "Match Any", or "Match No") Terms to combine the search terms and try various search fields.

Here are some examples:

  • Religion (as Subject)
  • Devotion (as All Fields) AND Religion (as Subject)
  • Science (as Subject) AND Relition (as Subject)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in a catalog, usually listed as "Subjects".

This is an example of a record:

NOTE:  Some times a record would have only one subject heading, but if you click on the subject heading, you will be able to browse other books that will lead to more subject headings.

Important: Once you find a book you think you would like, note the location and the call number.  You will need both of these pieces of information to locate the book.


Still can't find what you need?

If you are looking for a book that we do not own, try the following:

  1. Check the University of Pittsburgh's Catalog PITTCat+: you are able to borrow books by getting a borrowing card (you'll need a valid CMU ID card). 
  2. Check E-Z Borrowgives you access to books from libraries in Pennsylvania.  You'll need your Andrew ID number, which is the second set of numbers on the bottom of your CMU ID card.
  3. Check Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library).  You can get a library card for free.  You'll need a proof of your current address.

You can also check other local library catlogs (see list).


Finding Articles

There are many are multi-disciplinary databases, making selecting one tricky. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  See the Relevant Guides box on the right.

One possible approach is to search specialized journals.  You can do this online by going to e-Journals A-Z and looking for a journal by title, then searching within the journal.  If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can enter a word like "religion" or relevant terms to generate a list of titles with these words.

To search inside the journal, click on the link below.  Follow the link to the vendor that provides our access.  The journal will open.  You can then search just that journal.  In some cases, you may need to select the option to "search this [or within] publication." Here are some suggested titles:

  Journal of religion and health  (0022-4197)
Alternate Title: Religion & health
      
from 10/01/1961 to 12/31/2010 in JSTOR
from 10/01/1961 to 12/31/1996 in Springer Online Journal Archives (Through 1996)
from 01/01/1997 to present in SpringerLINK
from 03/01/1997 to 1 year ago in ProQuest Central, ProQuest Health & Medical Complete, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest Religion and ProQuest Research Library
  Religion & gender (Utrecht)
      
from 2011 to present in Directory of Open Access Journals
  Religion & literature  (0888-3769)
      
from 01/01/1984 to 12/31/2010 in JSTOR
  Religion, state & society  (0963-7494)
      
from 03/01/1998 to 09/30/2000 in ProQuest Central, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Religion and ProQuest Sociology
  Religion today : a journal of contemporary religions
      
from 05/01/1984 to 06/30/1994 in Taylor & Francis Arts & Humanities Archive 2012
  Religion watch  (0886-2141)
      
from 01/01/2008 to present in Academic OneFile and General OneFile
from 01/01/2011 to 2 months ago in ProQuest Central and ProQuest Religion
  Religions (Basel, Switzerland )
      
from 2010 to present in Directory of Open Access Journals
  Religions (Dawḥah, Qatar)  (2218-7480)
      
from 01/01/2009 to 12/31/2009 in ProQuest Central and ProQuest Religion
from 01/01/2011 to present in ProQuest Central and ProQuest Religion

 

In general, the following databases are good starting places for relevant information on gender, media and representation:

a.  Academic OneFile - Full text articles covering the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

b. CQ Researcher - Full text of reports from the government on hot topics such as religion, sexuality, politics.

c. JSTOR - Articles in important academic journals; all disciplines; latest few years not available.

d. Roper Center for Public Opinion Archives - A grest source of public opinion data

Other specialized databases:

a.  PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) - Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues from 1915 to date.

b.  PolicyFile - a good place to look for information on policy related.


(note:  If you cannot locate the journals in our libraries or databases (e-journals), you can always get them via Interlibrary Loan; also if you are off-campus or using a wireless connection, you need  to make sure you are authenticated via AnyConnect (see Off-Campus/Wireless Access).

Suggested Readings

Important:  For electronic items, be sure that you are connected via VPN if you are Off-campus or using wireless.


Relevant Guides

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  Here are relevant guides for this course:

Art - The Art guide is a good source for information relevant to representation.

Business & Economics Databases - This list of databases is a good start for information related to marketing and advertising.

English Guide - Check here for general databases, but also if you are looking for historical coverage.

Ethnic & Gender Studies - Check here for further information about ethnic or gender topics.

Psychology Databases - A good place to look for social aspects of gender, media, and representation.