Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: Indie Culture

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

Finding Books

If you are looking for books that are owned by Carnegie Mellon University, use our library catalog, CAMEO.  It is the library catalog and is the best way to find books, microfilm, videos, and other materials owned by the library.  It is not where you will find journal articles.


Here are some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searched.  The default CAMEO search is a keyword search; to build a more specific search, use the advanced search option.  If you want tips for how to build searches, see the CAMEO Help with Search Operators page.  These tips work in other library catalogs as well.

-- Select "Match All", "Match Any", or "Match No") Terms to combine the search terms and try various search fields.

Here are some examples:

  • Independent Films (as a Subject) AND History (as a Subject)
  • United States (as a Subject) AND Independent Films (as All Fields)
  • Independent Culture (as All Fields)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in a catalog, usually listed as "Subjects".

This is an example of a record:

NOTE:  Click on the title to view additional subject heading.

Important: Once you find a book you think you would like, note the location and the call number.  You will need both of these pieces of information to locate the book.


Still can't find what you need?

If you are looking for a book that we do not own, try the following:

  1. Check the University of Pittsburgh's Catalog PITTCat+: you are able to borrow books by getting a borrowing card (you'll need a valid CMU ID card). 
  2. Check E-Z Borrowgives you access to books from libraries in Pennsylvania.  You'll need your Andrew ID number, which is the second set of numbers on the bottom of your CMU ID card.
  3. Check Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library).  You can get a library card for free.  You'll need a proof of your current address.

You can also check other local library catlogs (see list).


Finding Articles

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  See the Relevant Guides box on the right.

The following databases are good starting places for relevant information on gender, media and representation:

a.  Academic OneFile: a good start and includes videos, news, etc.  Be sure to limit to scholarly articles.

b.  MLA International Bibliography: though it is a citation database (no full-text) it has a wealth of information.

c. PsychInfo: a great place for articles on social aspects of gender issues.


(note:  If you cannot locate the journals in our libraries or databases (e-journals), you can always get them via Interlibrary Loan; also if you are off-campus or using a wireless connection, you need  to make sure you are authenticated via AnyConnect (see Off-Campus/Wireless Access).

Reference Sources

Feautured Aricles (from Academic OneFile)

Loading

Relevant Guides

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  Here are relevant guides for this course:

Art - The Art guide is a good source for information relevant to representation.

Business & Economics Databases - This list of databases is a good start for information related to marketing and advertising.

English Guide - Check here for general databases, but also if you are looking for historical coverage.

Film Studies - This guide will help you get started with research about or incorporating film or related media.

Psychology Databases - A good place to look for social aspects of gender, media, and representation.