Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: Pop Culture & Soc Resp

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

Library Session Activity

Please go to PollEv.com/ethanpullman869 and answer this short anonymous poll.

During the library session, we will be discussing how and why readers or information consumers recognize or attribute authority differently for various sources. The outcome for this activity is to list factors that constitute credible authorship.

Activity:  Exploring Authority

A.  Look at the following sources and rank their credibility from most credible to least

  1. Courage and Political Resistance
  2. Why Immigrant Detainees Are Turning to Civil Disobedience
  3. Legal Struggles and Political Resistance in Canda and the USA

 

B. List 3 factors that you considered in ranking the authority of the sources above.


NOTE:  To complete this on blackboard, go to your course section, click on Library Activity, then Authority and complete a journal entry.

Research inquiry starts with one question and ends with many.  Here we will learn to identify steps that can be taken to enhance research inquiry and look at ways to identify how scholarly conversations may be constructed.  

Watch Shereen El Feki talk about Pop culture in the Arab World and answer the following questions:

  • What might be the main argument in this video?
  • What are some questions that may be explored further?
  • What factors might you consider identifying additional questions? 

A. Now that you have considered the videos individually, we will work in groups to synthesize your answers to the same questions and:

  1. Write a brief sentence describing the group's inquiry statement.
  2. List 4 search terms you may use to look for supporting research.
  3. Find and list the full reference to two relevant articles AND include the source in which you found them.

B. Based on the search strategy described in class, and using Academic OneFile, revisit your the group's inquiry topic and:

  1. List three additional search words that may be worth exploring.
  2. Use the new terms to search for two additional articles and list the references for the two articles.
  3. Compare the articles you found from A and B and answer the following:
    1. Which set of terms seemed more helpful in locating relevant articles and why?
    2. How might you change the original inquiry statement based on your searching?

C. Now consider your the inquiry statement you proposed for your class and:

  1. List 2 terms from your proposal and 2 from a database you choose.
  2. Use these terms to find and list 3 articles relevant to your inquiry.
  3. Which terms were more helpful and why?
  4. If you considered changing your inquiry as a result of your searching, how might you change it and why?
Loading

Finding Books

If you are looking for books that are owned by Carnegie Mellon University, use our library catalog, CAMEO.  It is the library catalog and is the best way to find books, microfilm, videos, and other materials owned by the library.  It is not where you will find journal articles.


Here are some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searchedThe default CAMEO search is a keyword search; to build a more specific search, use the advanced search option.  If you want tips for how to build searches, see the CAMEO Help with Search Operators page.  These tips work in other library catalogs as well.

-- Select "Match All", "Match Any", or "Match No") Terms to combine the search terms and try various search fields.

Here are some examples:

  • Ethics (as a Subject) AND popular culture (All fields)
  • Social Responsibility (as a Subject)
  • Journalism (as a Subject) AND responsibility (as Subject)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in a catalog, usually listed as "Subjects".

This is an example of a book record:

NOTE:  Some times a record would have only one subject heading, but if you click on the subject heading, you will be able to browse other books that will lead to more subject headings.

Important: Once you find a book you think you would like, note the location and the call number.  You will need both of these pieces of information to locate the book.

 

Still can't find what you need?

If you are looking for a book that we do not own, try the following:

  1. Check the University of Pittsburgh's Catalog PITTCat+: you are able to borrow books by getting a borrowing card (you'll need a valid CMU ID card). 
  2. Check E-Z Borrowgives you access to books from libraries in Pennsylvania.  You'll need your Andrew ID number, which is the second set of numbers on the bottom of your CMU ID card.
  3. Check Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library).  You can get a library card for free.  You'll need a proof of your current address.

You can also check other local library catlogs (see list).

For additional General Information, search one of the following sources:

Loading

Finding Articles & More

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  See the Relevant Guides box on the right.

One possible approach is to search specialized journals.  You can do this online by going to e-Journals A-Z and looking for a journal by title, then searching within the journal.  If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can enter a broad word like "food", or relevant terms to generate a list of titles with these words.

To search inside the journal, click on the link below.  Follow the link to the vendor that provides our access.  The journal will open.  You can then search just that journal.  In some cases, you may need to select the option to "search this [or within] publication." Here are some suggested titles:

Social responsibility: business, journalism, law, medicine  (0883-9395)

      
from 1984 to 1997 in HeinOnline Law Journal Library

Social responsibility journal  (1747-1117)
      
from 07/01/2006 to 1 year ago in ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest Central, ProQuest Social Science Journals and ProQuest Sociology
from 2007 to present in Emerald Management 175
Social responsibility: journalism, law, medicine  (0732-9938)
      
from 1975 to 1983 in HeinOnline Law Journal Library

 


Note:  For articles/secondary materials, check out the tabs for suggested databases.  If you cannot locate the journals in our libraries or databases (e-journals), you can always get them via Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

Search this database for full-text articles with historic multidisiplinary coverage. In some cases, current issues are included.

 

This database is also a collection of historic and current coverage of full-text scholarly articles

Search Project MUSE®

 

http://muse.jhu.edu


 
Loading