Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: Political Resistance

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

Library Session Activity

Please go to PollEv.com/ethanpullman869 and answer this short anonymous poll.

During the library session,we will be discussing how and why readers or information consumers recognize or attribute authority differently for various sources. The outcome for this activity is to list factors that constitute credible authorship.

Activity:  Exploring Authority

NOTE: you may need to log-in to access these articles from off-campus or from your wireless laptop.

A.  Look at the following sources and rank their credibility from most credible to least:

  1. Is the Anti-Trump 'Resistance', the new Tea Party?
  2. The Fight Ahead
  3. The Commercialization and Digitization of Social Movement Society


B. List 3 factors that you considered in ranking the authority of the sources above.

C.  After discussing your answers with your group, answer the following:

  1. What were your group's final ranking?
  2. How did the ranking change, if it did, from your rankings?  

Research inquiry starts with one question and ends with many.  Here we will learn to identify steps that can be taken to enhance research inquiry and look at ways to identify how scholarly conversations may be constructed.  

A. Please review the following videos:

  1. The success of nonviolent civil resistance
  2. Non-violence is the most powerful weapon

 

B.  Answer the following questions:

  • What are the main positions presented in the videos above?
  • What are some unanswered questions that may be explored further?
  • What considerations should be taken when analyzing or contributing to this conversations?

 

C.  After discussing your answers with your group, reconsider the questions above:

  1. What changes would you make?
  2. What new information might you consider?

Use the strategies you learned to:

  1. List 4 search terms you discovered.
  2. Use the search terms to list 2 additional sources for your paper.
  3. How does the second set of articles differ from the first in terms of relevance to your topic?
Loading

Finding Books

If you are looking for books that are owned by Carnegie Mellon University, use our library catalog, CAMEO.  It is the library catalog and is the best way to find books, microfilm, videos, and other materials owned by the library.  It is not where you will find journal articles.


Here are some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searchedThe default CAMEO search is a keyword search; to build a more specific search, use the advanced search option.  If you want tips for how to build searches, see the CAMEO Help with Search Operators page.  These tips work in other library catalogs as well.

-- Select "Match All", "Match Any", or "Match No") Terms to combine the search terms and try various search fields.

Here are some examples:

  • Political aspects (as a Subject) AND protest (as a keyword)
  • Peace Movement (as a Subject) AND History (as a Subject)
  • Social Movements (as a Subject) AND Political Aspects (as Subject)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in a catalog, usually listed as "Subjects".

This is an example of a book record:

NOTE:  Some times a record would have only one subject heading, but if you click on the subject heading, you will be able to browse other books that will lead to more subject headings.

Important: Once you find a book you think you would like, note the location and the call number.  You will need both of these pieces of information to locate the book.

 

Still can't find what you need?

If you are looking for a book that we do not own, try the following:

  1. Check the University of Pittsburgh's Catalog PITTCat+: you are able to borrow books by getting a borrowing card (you'll need a valid CMU ID card). 
  2. Check E-Z Borrowgives you access to books from libraries in Pennsylvania.  You'll need your Andrew ID number, which is the second set of numbers on the bottom of your CMU ID card.
  3. Check Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library).  You can get a library card for free.  You'll need a proof of your current address.

You can also check other local library catlogs (see list).

Loading

Finding Articles & More

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  See the Relevant Guides box on the right.

One possible approach is to search specialized journals.  You can do this online by going to e-Journals A-Z and looking for a journal by title, then searching within the journal.  If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can enter a broad word like "food", or relevant terms to generate a list of titles with these words.

To search inside the journal, click on the link below.  Follow the link to the vendor that provides our access.  The journal will open.  You can then search just that journal.  In some cases, you may need to select the option to "search this [or within] publication." Here are some suggested titles:

American politics quarterly  (0044-7803)
      
from 01/01/1998 to 10/31/1998 in Academic OneFile and General OneFile
from 01/01/1999 to 12/31/2000 in SAGE Premier 2014

 

Cultural politics (Biggleswade, England)  (1743-2197)

      
from 2005 to present in e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection: Expanded
from 03/01/2005 to 07/31/2010 in Academic OneFile
from 2012 to present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection

 

Wichita Protest - from 06/05/1919 to 10/19/1923 in African American Newspapers (1827-1998

Woman's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1914-1918) - from 01/01/1915 to 02/28/1918 in American Periodicals


Note:  For articles/secondary materials, check out the tabs for suggested databases.  If you cannot locate the journals in our libraries or databases (e-journals), you can always get them via Interlibrary Loan.

 

 
                                     

Search this database for full-text articles with historic multidisiplinary coverage. In some cases, current issues are included.

 

This database is also a collection of historic and current coverage of full-text scholarly articles

Search Project MUSE®

 

http://muse.jhu.edu


 

This is a selection of Internet Resources on Protest & Resistance:

  • Country Studies by Continent - From the library of Congress, these studies (though at times dated) can provide a great history a countries politics, policy, civil organizations, etc.
  • Global Nonviolent Action Database - Contains information about hundreds of cases of nonviolent action for learning and for citizen action. The cases are drawn from all continents and most countries. People are shown struggling for human rights, economic justice, democracy, national and ethnic identity, environmental sustainability, and peace.The database supports searches by country, by issue, by action method used, and by year.

If you have sources to suggest, please email me at ethanp@cmu.edu

Loading