Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

English: 76-100/101 - Interpretation & Argument: Why we Play

Find resources for Interpretation & Argument sections. Use tabs to navigate sections. To access information on these sub-topics, select one from the pull-down menu on this tab.

INTRODUCTION:

IMPORTANT:  Because there already exists a guide related to working, this guide will focus on leisure.  Please refer to Why we work for sources related to work.

Library Session Activity

This video is a short radio discussion about the future of leisure.

Proposed Topic:

With technology development the line between work and play has blurred.  Some suggest that new devices allows us to mix both and that its integration would have positive effects on productivity.  But are we defining "play" to narrowly?  Are there underestimated aspects of downtime that warrant inclusion in the definition of "play"?  And does technology have the same "positive" influence on other aspects of leisure?

Activity A:

1.  Use the "padlet" tool on the right to identify key concepts or terms that you would use to research this topic.

2.  SEARCH Google Scholar to find 3 information sources using your keywords, list them and indicate where you found them.

Activity B:  Discussion

1. What type of sources did you find?

2. What sort of problems did you encounter?

Acitivty C:  Revision

Based on the presentation given, redo activity 1 using revised search terms.

Activity D: Discussion

Compare your results in Activity A and C?  What differences did you observe?

Activity A:

1.  Use the "padlet" tool on the right to identify key concepts or terms that you would use to research this topic.

2.  SEARCH our library websiteUse the Everything tab to find 3 information sources using your keywords, list them and indicate where you found them.

Activity B:  Discussion

1. What type of sources did you find?

2. What sort of problems did you encounter?

Acitivty C:  Revision

Based on the presentation given, redo activity 1 using revised search terms.

Activity D: Discussion

Compare your results in Activity A and C?  What differences did you observe?

Activity A:

1.  Use the "padlet" tool on the right to identify key concepts or terms that you would use to research this topic.

2.  SEARCH our library website:  Use Articles & More to find 3 information sources using your keywords, list them and indicate where you found them.

Activity B:  Discussion

1. What type of sources did you find?

2. What sort of problems did you encounter?

Acitivty C:  Revision

Based on the presentation given, redo activity 1 using revised search terms.

Activity D: Discussion

Compare your results in Activity A and C?  What differences did you observe?

Activity A:

1.  Use the "padlet" tool on the right to identify key concepts or terms that you would use to research this topic.

2.  SEARCH Academic OneFile: to find 3 information sources using your keywords, list them and indicate where you found them.

Activity B:  Discussion

1. What type of sources did you find?

2. What sort of problems did you encounter?

Acitivty C:  Revision

Based on the presentation given, redo activity 1 using revised search terms.

Activity D: Discussion

Compare your results in Activity A and C?  What differences did you observe?

Activity A:

1.  Use the "padlet" tool on the right to identify key concepts or terms that you would use to research this topic.

2.  SEARCH PsychINFO to find 3 information sources using your keywords, list them and indicate where you found them.

Activity B:  Discussion

1. What type of sources did you find?

2. What sort of problems did you encounter?

Acitivty C:  Revision

Based on the presentation given, redo activity 1 using revised search terms.

Activity D: Discussion

Compare your results in Activity A and C?  What differences did you observe?

Loading

Finding Books

If you are looking for books that are owned by Carnegie Mellon University, use our library catalog, CAMEO.  It is the library catalog and is the best way to find books, microfilm, videos, and other materials owned by the library.  It is not where you will find journal articles.


Here are some basic tips for searching library catalogs:

-- Whenever possible, use Advanced Search because it allows you to control how your topic is searchedThe default CAMEO search is a keyword search; to build a more specific search, use the advanced search option.  If you want tips for how to build searches, see the CAMEO Help with Search Operators page.  These tips work in other library catalogs as well.

-- Select "Match All", "Match Any", or "Match No") Terms to combine the search terms and try various search fields.

Here are some examples:

  • Social aspects (as a Subject) AND leisure (as a keyword)
  • Recreation (as a Subject) AND free time (as a keyword)
  • Economic Aspects (as a Subject) AND leisure (as Subject)

-- View the full-record and note of the subject headings used in a catalog, usually listed as "Subjects".

This is an example of a book record:

NOTE:  Some times a record would have only one subject heading, but if you click on the subject heading, you will be able to browse other books that will lead to more subject headings.

Important: Once you find a book you think you would like, note the location and the call number.  You will need both of these pieces of information to locate the book.

 

Still can't find what you need?

If you are looking for a book that we do not own, try the following:

  1. Check the University of Pittsburgh's Catalog PITTCat+: you are able to borrow books by getting a borrowing card (you'll need a valid CMU ID card). 
  2. Check E-Z Borrowgives you access to books from libraries in Pennsylvania.  You'll need your Andrew ID number, which is the second set of numbers on the bottom of your CMU ID card.
  3. Check Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library).  You can get a library card for free.  You'll need a proof of your current address.

You can also check other local library catlogs (see list).

For additional General Information, search one of the following sources:

Loading

Finding Articles & More

Selecting the appropriate databases is difficult, since many are multi-disciplinary. The best approach is to think of relevant subject guides to your topic and check there for database suggestions.  See the Relevant Guides box on the right.

One possible approach is to search specialized journals.  You can do this online by going to e-Journals A-Z and looking for a journal by title, then searching within the journal.  If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can enter a broad word like "food", or relevant terms to generate a list of titles with these words.

To search inside the journal, click on the link below.  Follow the link to the vendor that provides our access.  The journal will open.  You can then search just that journal.  In some cases, you may need to select the option to "search this [or within] publication." Here are some suggested titles:

Journal of hospitality, leisure, sport & tourism education

      
from 04/01/2008 to 10/31/2011 in ProQuest Central, ProQuest Education Journals and ProQuest Research Library
from 04/01/2012 to present in ScienceDirect Freedom Collection 2014

Journal of leisure research  (0022-2216)

      
from 01/01/1969 to 01/31/2000 in PAO Collection 8
from 01/01/1993 to present in Academic OneFile and General OneFile
from 01/01/1994 to 12/31/2012 in ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest Central, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest Research Library and ProQuest Social Science Journals

Managing leisure  (1360-6719) - from 07/01/1998 to 18 months ago in Business Source Premier


Note:  For articles/secondary materials, check out the tabs for suggested databases.  If you cannot locate the journals in our libraries or databases (e-journals), you can always get them via Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

Search this database for full-text articles with historic multidisiplinary coverage. In some cases, current issues are included.

 

This database is also a collection of historic and current coverage of full-text scholarly articles

Search Project MUSE®

 

http://muse.jhu.edu


 
Loading