This guide
will help you create lists of companies in your field, find background on firms and industries, find networking contacts, learn interviewing tips, etc.
Find company background
- Hoover'sincludes U.S. and international companies; brief company description, leadership, history, financials, products, etc.
- Datamonitor (formerly MarketLine)find your company, and then see the sections on the left – particularly the SWOT analysis and Financial Deals
- Thomson ONEOpen Company Views on the left for extensive company data, deals, financials, news, analyst reports. NOTE: must use Internet Explorer browser.
- LexisNexis Company DossierAll of the sections can be expanded for more information, including the sections at the left.
- Vault/Career Insiderfrom the COC, will tell you what it’s like to work there. If you're using it for the first time, you'll need to create an account - just use your Andrew email address.
- More in our company research guide
Review what's happening in an industry
- IBISWorldmarket research reports for 700 industries
- Standard & Poor's Industry SurveysMajor industries covered in depth.
- Frost & Sullivan reportsDetailed market reports and analysis on technology aspects of many industries. For academic use only; some are read-only.
- Datamonitor (formerly MarketLine)International coverage - substantial industry reports on hundreds of specific industries
- For articles on trends, and coverage of smaller, niche industries, use the “News Sources” section in this guide
- US Census Bureau industry statistics
- More in our industry research guide
Find companies to apply to
- Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database – contains 23 million companies worldwide. Create and download lists with specific criteria.
- Career Search – can also create and download lists (create your account first.) Creates nice reports, and provides contact emails. Referral code and other COC passwords are here.
- Hoover ’s Online – find a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” on left hand side; has selected international companies. No downloading, though.
- Use NAICS codes starting with 52 in Hoover's or the Million Dollar Database
- Private equity, venture capital firms, and the companies they invest in: Thomson ONE (use Internet Explorer) - click at the left side on"Screening & Analysis" then under "Private Equity" use "Companies & Investors".
- Hedge funds:
- Barclay Hedge Fund Directory - detailed information on 2500 hedge funds and contact information for their managers
- Other countries besides U.S. - CareerSearch database - choose "International" search, and then select "Hedge Funds"
- Corporate Finance Sourcebook - guide to financial services firms worldwide, including venture capital firms, securities analysts, accounting firms, pension managers, business brokers, commercial and investment banks, and corporate real estate services. In print in the Hunt Library reference collection: HG4057 .A1565 2011.
- North American Financial Institutions Directory - From Thomson, in print in the Hunt Library reference room - HG1536 .P635 2011
- Thomson's PEHub has an MBA forum with listings of internships in PE and VC - free registration; for school code, email rwerner@andrew.cmu.edu
- Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory online
- Use NAICS code 54161 in Hoover's or the Million Dollar Database
- Use Hoover's or the Million Dollar Database to locate consumer products firms (find NAICS code first for specific industries.)
- Greenbook - directory of market research firms
- Operations jobs are available in all kinds of firms - for those, see the "All Fields" list above.
- For manufacturing firms, use Advanced Search, then NAICS code option and click on Manufacturing in the Million Dollar Database
- Thomas Register database (free) is another good source for manufacturing company lists.
- US firms with operations in another country; also foreign firms operating in the US - LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations (use the Advanced Search)
- Broadcast media: publishers, radio/tv stations, cable companies - Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Networking - discover someone's background or locate contacts
Databases:
Marquis Who’s Who – quick, authoritative bios on 1.4 million people worldwide; get lists by categories, such as "marketing executives"
LexisNexis Academic – use the “people” tab; detailed information from a range of sources
Leadership Directories – public and private sectors, all levels of government, media, law, etc. Includes email addresses of contacts.
Community of Science Expertise – researchers and experts from universities, government agencies, and R&D organizations internationally
ProQuest – news articles on people from thousands of publications
Networking through professional associations: every job has an association that supports it, both nationally and locally; find yours. Most have student memberships. Don't forget to look at their job boards!
- Googling key words (i.e. "finance association pittsburgh" will turn up the Pittsburgh Association for Financial Professionals.)
-
*Special tip* - use the (Advanced Search) database to find executives in your occupation and your city. Then, look at their profiles under "memberships" and see what organizations they belong to.Marquis Who’s Who
Interviewing tips
Speed-read a book! Find one through CAMEO, using keywords such as “interviewing,” “job hunting,” or “resumes.” Examples: How to interview like a top MBA; Next-day job interview : prepare tonight and get the job tomorrow; The Harvard Business School guide to finding your next job; Heard on the street: quantitative questions from Wall Street job interviews; Killer investment banking resumes, etc.
Vault/Career Insider – from the COC-, has downloadable books on interviews, practice guides, etc. Click on "Industry Career Guides."
Tips for that first interview, from the New York Times Dealbook expert
Inform yourself about a company's strategy and risk factors

See top analyst reports and conference call transcripts for public companies on the Thomson ONE database, under "Research" link. (Use Internet Explorer browser.)
Use ABI-INFORM database, and search using keywords, i.e. “Heinz and strategy”

Loading...
