Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

The Library of the 21st Century: Home

CMU Vision & Strategy Survey

In April of 2017 the SAGE group conducted a Library Vision & Strategy Survey.

There were a total of seventeen respondents over a period of seven days. The anonymous results are posted on the Library Only Intranet under "Library Planning Documents."

SAGE Team


Many thanks to Terrence Chiusano for his participation in SAGE in spring 2017.

SAGE Themes

Spaces / Jill Chisnell

The rapid production and availability of digital information has provided libraries with the opportunity not only to redefine missions, but also to reimagine physical spaces. The library of the 21st century provides flexible and interactive spaces to encourage collaborative research, technology-driven scholarship, innovative problem-solving, and artistic expression. Despite the trend to relocate print collections to off-site storage facilities, the future library will remain central to the discovery, dissemination, and preservation of ideas, research, and academic and creative production in all its forms—from dissertations and peer-reviewed publications to data sets, emerging media, and 3D printed prototypes.

Collections / Julia Corrin

While the library of the 21st century is still a hub of information, it is reimagining what that means. Libraries are de-emphasizing their physical collectionsmoving books offsite and relying on consortial borrowing arrangements to access commonly held titles. In the face of economic changes and budgetary constraints, libraries are strengthening these partnerships and pooling resources to acquire materials and build new tools to access them. Libraries are also beginning to direct more attention to unique collectionsarchives, special collections, and areas of particular focus. The digital collections have also become central to the mission of the library, with unique sets of digitized and born-digital materials and the systems used to access them treated as a core function. As many of these changes have been brought on by the ready availability of digital information, the creation and maintenance of unique digital collectionsand the development of the systems to used to access themis now viewed as a core function of the 21st century library.

 

Open Scholarship / Ana Van Gulick

The evolving Scholarly Record of the digital age requires Open Scholarship, encompassing open access, open data, and open educational resources. The modern and future research lifecycle requires interoperable tools to define, manage, and analyze data; craft and disseminate research products; and share data and publications with colleagues, funders, and the general public. Digital repositories collect and add value to all of the products of research and scholarship by enhancing their discoverability and enabling reuse of research data and methods.

Advancing Research / Rikk Mulligan

In the Information Age, knowledge as the product of research and scholarship poses many challenges that librarians and libraries are especially poised to answer in the coming century. Research institutions are part of an increasingly global ecosystem, where each is a node in a distributed network of tools and methods, meeting the challenges of big data through machine learning and crowdsourcing scholars. Advancing research will require educating communities of practice to deploy digital tools, and to share knowledge through digital publishing and the born-digital products of increasingly collaborative and public digital scholarship.

Skills & Services / Ole Villadsen

As spaces, collections, and opportunities to advance University research evolve, new roles, skills, and expertise will be necessary. Information specialists with a blend of technical skills and subject matter expertise will enhance patrons’ research outputs and overall experience.  They will employ tools and methods to assess the user experience to further hone their skills and services. The personnel of the future CMU library will welcome, assist, and collaborate with patrons—students, faculty, and the public--as co-creators of knowledge.

Loading

Spring 2017 Events

May 8, 2017

8:30am - 12:30pm

CUC, Rangos 3

An overview of the university’s strategic directions will be presented by Provost Farnam Jahanian. Four deans (Richard Scheines, Dan Martin, Rebecca Doerge and Jim Garrett) will form a panel to discuss future trends in education and research at CMU. Colleagues from SAGE will present their review of library trends, and Keith will conclude by setting the stage for the second event.


May 25, 2017

8:00am - 4:00pm

Ace Hotel (120 S. Whitfield St.)

A series of round-table discussions on how we build upon the May 8 presentations as they relate to our strategic directions. The goal is to create concrete plans and objectives for the coming year and beyond.