Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Modern Languages Department: Home

This guide is intended for students of Modern Languages as well as other members of the Carnegie Mellon community who wish to develop and maintain their language skills or simply have fun with languages and cultures

Welcome students, faculty, and staff

Hunt library Hello and Welcome!  I am your library liaison and act as the primary library contact for the Department of Modern Languages.  In this capacity, I strive to collaborate with the department in order to identify resources and build book and journal collections that best support the curricular and research needs of the department.  Feel free to browse the various pages and provide comments and feedback.  In addition, I provide library services such as research instruction and reference consultations.  Please feel free to contact me with any questions or comments.

 

If you are new to the university, please visit one of the following for additional information:

UndergraduateGraduate

Post-Docs & Visiting Researchers

Faculty

Staff

Liaison - English & Modern Languages

Ethan Pullman's picture
Ethan Pullman
Contact:
109B Hunt Library,
Carnegie Mellon University
4909 Frew Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
==================================
Liaison Departments:
English, Modern Languages, & Philosophy
------------------------------------------------------------
Additional Interdisciplinary responsibilities: Ethnic/Minority Studies, & Gender/LGBT studies
------------------------------------------------------------
(412) 268- 5018
Website

What's new in our libraries?

Need Something?
Library Catalog

We have a new library catalog (click image to explore)

Please contact me with questions or feedback.

Repository

Kilthub is the new CMU institutional repository (Click on image to explore)

If you had any collections or items in Research Showcase (our previous repository), they will have been migrated to your KiltHub account.  Please contact me if you have any questions.

Tips for finding non-English sources

Need to find non-English sources?  Here are some tips that will work for all languages.


  1. Use Advanced Search and limit by language (if available).  In general, most online databases support direct target language searching.  When searching library catalogs (such as Carnegie Mellon University's catalog - CAMEO), or any of our online databases and web search engines such as Wikipedia, Google Scholar, or Google Books, use the target language.
     
  2.  Look for foreign-language reference books.  Many are available here at CMU, but also check the University of Pittsburgh's catalog and make sure to visit their specialized collectionos such as the East Asian Library, and the Eduardo Lozano Latin American Collection.
     
  3.  Check one of the following sources:
     
    a.  ABYZ News Links - a newspaper and news media index of for all countries.  Each country listing has online newspaper and media (such as radio and TV broadcasts) in English and the country's national language.  
     
    b.  Directory of Open Access Journals - Free access to scholarly articles, including non-English sources.
     
    c.  Ethnic Newswatch - contains ethnic and minority magazine and newspaper articles, 1959-present.  Though mostly in English, you can narrow by language for their non-English sources.
     
    d.  HathiTrust Digital Library - Text-mine (full text search) over 10 million digitized works and create customized collections.
     
    e.  Hispanic American Newspapers - The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
     
    f.  Lexis-Nexis Academic - is one of the most comprehensive foreign language newspaper and news sources.  You can browse by type of resource and country.