Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Modern Languages Department: Spanish

This guide is intended for students of Modern Languages as well as other members of the Carnegie Mellon community who wish to develop and maintain their language skills or simply have fun with languages and cultures

Reading, Reference and Research

If you're looking for scholarly studies of Spanish or Latin American history, literature or culture, start with the CMU library catalog (Cameo), PittCat  and databases such as MLA (language & literature), LLBA (linguistics), America:History and Life, Historical Abstracts, Google Scholar,  full-text journal collections such as  JSTOR and Project Muse, or reference works such as Credo Reference, Literature Resource Center,  or Oxford Reference Online

INFORME - a full-text Spanish-language periodical database

Two other databases that are especially relevant for Hispanic Studies are ClasePeriodica (index to scholarly articles in the Spanish language on humanities and social sciences) and Ethnic Newswatch (full-text articles in Spanish from the Latino press).

The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a free scholarly bibliography compiled at the Library of Congress.

See also the Latin America and Caribbean and  Spain and Portugal research guides by Sue Collins, CMU History Liaison.

Be sure to consult General Tips for Finding Resources in Different Languages on the Modern Languages guide home page. 

Many primary sources on hispanic literature and culture can be found at websites such as these:

El Pais Cultural News Feed

Loading